Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for East Cambridgeshire District Council

6th September 2016

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for East Cambridgeshire District Council.


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals late last year and draws new boundaries for each council ward across East Cambridgeshire.


Publication of new district ward boundaries comes on the same day as the Commission publishes its recommendations for new electoral divisions for Cambridgeshire County Council in a separate boundary review.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that East Cambridgeshire should be represented by 28 district councillors in the future: eleven fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent two three-member wards, ten two-member wards and two single-member wards across the district.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across East Cambridgeshire who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout East Cambridgeshire.”


In response to local feedback, the Commission has made amendments to its draft proposals. For example, the Commission has made a minor amendment to the proposed boundary between Ely East and Ely North wards so that properties on Carey Close and part of Kings Avenue will be part of Ely North ward. They had been included in Ely East ward under the previous recommendations.


The Commission has also listened to local feedback which argued that its proposed three-councillor Haddenham & Sutton ward should be divided in a one-councillor ward and two-councillor ward to reflect community identities in that part of the district. The Commission’s final recommendations are therefore for a single-member Haddenham ward and a two-member Sutton ward.


Conversely, the Commission also received evidence that it should combine its one-councillor Fordham and Isleham wards into a two-member ward. The Commission was persuaded by local evidence that the two-councillor ward would reflect the ties between local parishes.


Elsewhere in the district, the Commission was persuaded that it should include the parish of Burrough Green in Woodditton ward rather than Bottisham ward as previously proposed. The Commission has agreed that change as part of its final recommendations.


Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: /current-reviews/eastern/cambridgeshire/east-cambridgeshire.