Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Doncaster

25th November 2014
The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council.

Today’s publication follows two phases of public consultation on draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across the district.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Doncaster should be represented by 55 councillors in the future, eight fewer than the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent eight two-member wards and 13 three-member wards across Doncaster.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to the people of Doncaster who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across Doncaster, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across the borough.”

In response to local views put forward during public consultation, the Commission has made changes to the recommendations it published in September. For example, in the rural western part of Doncaster, the Commission now recommends that the parishes of Hampole, Clayton with Frickley, Hooton Pagnell and Brodsworth should all be part of a Sprotbrough ward which will cover much of the west of the borough. In the previous proposals, the parishes had been included in wards with Adwick le Street, Carcroft, Norton and Askern or divided between wards.

The Commission also proposes that the parish of Conisbrough Parks, which includes the village of Clifton, should be part of the Conisbrough ward and not Edlington & Warmsworth ward as previously proposed. The Commission believes its final recommendation is a better reflection of local community identities.

The Commission has also confirmed its decision to ensure that the village of Edenthorpe is completely included in a ward with Kirk Sandall. The Commission’s original recommendations, published in May, had proposed to divide Edenthorpe between two council wards.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming weeks. The draft order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2015.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.
  2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /current-reviews/yorkshire-and-the-humber/south-yorkshire/doncaster-fer or at