Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Dartford

4th June 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Dartford Borough Council.



Dartford summary map

Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at: 


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Dartford.


The boundaries of all Dartford’s current wards will change as a result of the review.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Dartford should be represented by 42 borough councillors in the future: two fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent seven three-councillor wards, eight two-councillor wards and five one-councillor wards across the borough.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Dartford who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Dartford.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has made changes to some of the wards it put forward for consultation earlier this year. For example, the Commission previously proposed to divide the parish of Sutton-at-Hone and Hawley between two wards. Given the strength of local representations that argued for the parish to be wholly included in one ward, the Commission has changed its recommendations. The area will now be covered by a Wilmington, Sutton-at-Hone and Hawley ward to be represented by three councillors.


In Dartford town, the Commission originally proposed that the central and northern parts of Dartford should be represented by a Town ward which would be represented by three councillors. However, local people and organisations made a strong case that the Burnham area has a strong and separate identity from the rest of the town. As a result, the Commission has amended its proposed boundaries so that the area will be covered by a two-councillor Town ward alongside a Burnham ward to be represented by one councillor.


In the south of the borough, the Commission has also made changes to its proposal for a Darenth ward. Local submissions during consultation suggested that the Darenth ward should include Darenth Country Park and Darenth Wood. The Commission has made this change as part of their final recommendations.  


Elsewhere in Dartford, the Commission has made minor changes to its proposed ward boundaries to reflect local community views.


Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to map over page:

    1          Bean & Village Park

    2          Brent

    3          Bridge

    4          Burnham

    5          Darenth

    6          Ebbsfleet

    7          Greenhithe & Knockhall

    8          Heath

    9          Joyden's wood

    10        Longfield, New Barn & Southfleet

    11        Maypole & Leyton Cross

    12        Newtown

    13        Princes

    14        Stone Castle

    15        Stone House

    16        Swanscombe

    17        Temple Hill

    18        Town

    19        West Hill

    20        Wilmington, Sutton-at-Hone & Hawley


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Dartford Borough Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: