Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Cotswold District Council

14th October 2014

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Cotswold District Council.


Today’s publication follows a ten-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across the district.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Cotswold district should be represented by 34 councillors in the future, ten fewer than the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 30 single-member wards and two two-member wards across the district.


Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Cotswold district who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.


“Across the district, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across Cotswold.”


In light of feedback received during the public consultation, the Commission proposes to alter parts of the recommendations it put forward in February. In particular, the Commission now proposes that the parish of Lechdale should not be divided between wards as put forward in the draft recommendations. Instead, the Commission proposes a two-member Lechdale, Fairford South & Kempsford ward to reflect ties between communities in that part of the district.


In response to local feedback, the Commission has also altered its recommendations so that Compton Abdale parish is included as part of the Chedworth & Churn Vale ward rather than Sandywell ward as previously proposed.


Similarly, the Commission proposes that Driffield & Harnhill parish should be part of The Ampneys & Hampton ward rather than Siddington & Cerny Rural ward as put forward in the draft recommendations.


Elsewhere in the district, the Commission is also proposing to alter some of the ward names included in its draft recommendations. As such, Beeches North and Beeches South wards become The Beeches and New Mills wards respectively. In addition, Chesterton East and Chesterton West wards become Chesterton and Four Acres wards. Finally, Park & Whiteway ward is renamed as Abbey ward. All changes to the proposed names of the wards were put forward by local groups. 


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2015.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /current-reviews/south-west/gloucestershire/cotswold-fer