Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Chorley Council

26th March 2019

News Release


Local electoral arrangements finalised for Chorley Borough Council


Embargoed until: 00.01, 26 March 2019


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Chorley Council.



























Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2019


Today’s publication follows two rounds of public consultation and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Chorley.


Every council ward in Chorley will change as a result of the review.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Chorley should be represented by 42 borough councillors in the future: five fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent fourteen three-councillor wards.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Chorley who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Chorley.”


In response to local feedback during public consultation, the Commission has made changes to some of the proposals it published in November. In the south of the borough, it has listened to local views put forward during consultation and has agreed to include the whole of Heath Charnock parish in a Chorley South East & Heath Charnock ward. The Commission had previously proposed to divide the parish between wards. At the same time, the Commission has decided to include Anglezarke parish in Adlington & Anderton ward.


In the west of the borough, the Commission has changed its draft proposals so that Heskin parish will now be part of a ward with the parishes of Eccleston and Charnock Richard. The changes also mean that south Euxton is included in a ward with the parishes of Bretherton, Croston, Mawdesley and Ulnes Walton.


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2020.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: