Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Cheshire West and Chester Council

6th March 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Cheshire West and Chester Council.


Cheshire West and Chester Summary Map



Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows three phases of public consultation and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Cheshire West and Chester.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Cheshire West and Chester should be represented by 70 councillors in the future: five fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent six three-councillor wards, thirteen two-councillor wards and 26 one-councillor wards across Cheshire West and Chester.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Cheshire West and Chester who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Cheshire West and Chester.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has changed some of the recommendations it published for consultation in August 2017. For example, in Chester, the Commission originally proposed that part of the Garden Quarter area should be included in the Blacon ward. Following local feedback on the proposal, the Commission changed the boundaries so that the Garden Quarter would be wholly contained in a Chester City & the Garden Quarter ward. The Commission then held another phase of consultation on the new proposals and confirms them as final in these recommendations.


The Commission also received representations during public consultation that Lache should be included in its own ward rather than included in a ward with Handbridge Park as proposed by the Commission last August. The Commission agreed that community identities would be better reflected by dividing its proposed Overleigh ward into a Handbridge Park ward and a Lache ward.


In Neston, the Commission originally proposed that the town should be covered by a Neston & Parkgate ward that would be represented by three councillors. However, local people and organisations argued that community ties in the town would be better reflected by having three wards, each represented by one councillor. The Commission has changed its proposals accordingly in its final recommendations.


The Commission has also listened to local feedback about its proposed names for wards across Chester West and Chester. Local people put forward alternatives in several parts of the council area which the Commission has adopted as part of its final recommendations. As such, the final recommendations change the names of the following proposed wards: Eddisbury Hill to Tarvin & Kelsall, Elton & Mickle Trafford to Gowy Rural, Manley to Sandstone, Northwich Winnington to Northwich Winnington & Castle, Overpool & Grange to Central & Grange, Whitby Groves to Whitby Park and Whitby Heath to Whitby Groves.


Elsewhere, the Commission has made minor amendments to its draft recommendations to reflect local views put forward during consultation.  Full details of the changes and final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to the map over the page:


1.    Blacon

2.    Central & Grange

3.    Chester City & the Garden Quarter

4.    Christleton & Huntington

5.    Davenham, Moulton & Kingsmead

6.    Farndon

7.    Frodsham

8.    Gowy Rural

9.    Great Boughton

10.  Handbridge Park

11.  Hartford & Greenbank

12.  Helsby

13.  Lache

14.  Ledsham & Manor

15.  Little Neston

16.  Malpas

17.  Marbury

18.  Neston

19.  Netherpool

20.  Newton & Hoole

21.  Northwich Leftwich

22.  Northwich Winnington & Castle

23.  Northwich Witton

24.  Parkgate

25.  Rudheath

26.  Sandstone

27.  Saughall & Mollington

28.  Shakerley

29.  Strawberry

30.  Sutton Villages

31.  Tarporley

32.  Tarvin & Kelsall

33.  Tattenhall

34.  Upton

35.  Weaver & Cuddington

36.  Westminster

37.  Whitby Groves

38.  Whitby Park

39.  Willaston & Thornton

40.  Winsford Dene

41.  Winsford Gravel

42.  Winsford Over & Verdin

43.  Winsford Swanlow

44.  Winsford Wharton

45.  Wolverham



  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Cheshire West and Chester Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: