Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Carlisle City Council

27th November 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Carlisle City Council.




Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals earlier this year and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Carlisle.


All current council wards will change as a result of the review.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Carlisle should be represented by 39 city councillors in the future: thirteen fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent thirteen three-councillor wards.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Carlisle who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Carlisle.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has made changes to the proposals it published in August. For example, in the south west of the city, the Commission has changed its recommendations so that Crummock Street, Brassenthwaite Street, Wigton Road, Westwater Close, Derwent Street and Abbots Road will all be part of Newtown & Morton North ward rather than Denton Holme & Morton South. The changes mean that communities in the Morton area will not be divided between council wards.


To the south east of the city, the Commission has listened to local feedback that suggested the new development of Speckled Wood should be part of the urban Harraby South & Parklands ward rather than the rural Dalston & Burgh ward. The Commission has agreed to include this change in its final recommendations.


The Commission has also responded positively to local representations that argued for changes to the names of seven of the proposed wards. They are:



Draft Recommendations

Final Recommendations

Botcherby & Durranhill

Botcherby & Harraby North


Cathedral & Castle

Harraby South & Garlands

Harraby South & Parklands

Longtown, Lyne & Irthington

Longtown & the Border

Newtown & Morton Central

Newtown & Morton North


Sandsfield & Morton West

Wetheral & Corby Hill

Wetheral & Corby


Full details of the final recommendations and further minor changes to the draft proposals are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to map over page:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Carlisle City Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: