Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Broxtowe Borough Council

14th October 2014

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Broxtowe Borough Council.

Today’s publication follows a twelve-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across the borough.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Broxtowe should be represented by 44 councillors in the future, the same as current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent six three-member wards, twelve two-member wards and two single-member wards across the borough.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Broxtowe who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the borough, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across Broxtowe.”

In light of feedback received during the public consultation, the Commission proposes to alter the name of Trowell & Awsworth ward, which it put forward as part of its draft recommendations. Instead, the Commission proposes to call the ward Awsworth, Cossall & Trowell to reflect the main parts of the ward.

In addition, the Commission has amended its draft recommendations so that all properties on Muriel Road are included in Beeston North ward rather than split between two wards.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2015.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.
  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /current-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/broxtowe-fer or: