Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council

5th March 2019
News Release


Local electoral arrangements finalised for Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council


Embargoed until: 00.01, 5 March 2019


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council.


Final recommendations map for Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council


Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2019


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Basingstoke and Deane.


The boundaries of all but two of Basingstoke and Deane’s current wards will change as a result of the review.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Basingstoke and Deane should be represented by 54 borough councillors in the future: six fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent eighteen three-councillor wards across the borough.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Basingstoke and Deane who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Basingstoke and Deane.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has made changes to some of the wards it put forward for consultation last year. For example, it has made minor changes to its proposed Eastrop & Grove ward and Brookvale & Kings Furlong ward so that the boundaries of both wards are more identifiable and communities are not divided.


In the north of the borough, the Commission has agreed to include the area around Priestley Road in the Sherborne St John & Rooksdown ward rather than Popley as previously proposed. The Commission believes the new arrangement is a better reflection of community ties.


In addition, the Commission has changed the names of four of its proposed wards as a result of evidence submitted by local people and groups. The changes are:



Draft recommendations

Changed to:

Kingsclere & Baughurst

Tadley North, Kingsclere & Baughurst


Kempshott & Buckskin

Overton & Whitchurch

Whitchurch, Overton & Laverstoke.


Tadley & Pamber

Western Parishes



Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2020.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The Commission delayed publication of its final recommendations (originally scheduled in November 2018) in order to ensure that it had considered all the evidence supplied by local people and organisations during public consultation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: