Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Babergh District Council

7th August 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Babergh District Council.




Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows three phases of public consultation and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Babergh.


All Babergh’s current council wards will change as a result of the review


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Babergh should be represented by 32 district councillors in the future: eleven fewer than the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent one three-councillor ward, six two-councillor wards and seventeen one-councillor wards across the district.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Babergh who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during each stage of consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Babergh.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has changed the proposals it put forward in March. In the central parts of the district, the Commission had proposed a Hadleigh ward to be represented by three councillors. Respondents to the public consultation argued that two wards in this area would reflect community ties more accurately than one large ward. The Commission has therefore divided the area into a Hadleigh North ward to be represented by one councillor and a Hadleigh South ward to be represented by two councillors.


In the north-east of the district, local people and organisations argued that Wattisham parish should be part of the North West Cosford ward rather than South East Cosford ward as previously proposed. The Commission found evidence of community ties for a change in the recommendations to be persuasive and has included the amendment in its final proposals.


In the south east of Babergh, the Commission had proposed a three-councillor Berners ward to cover several local parishes. Local people objected to the plans and suggested a pattern of three one-councillor wards to cover the area instead. The Commission accepted the arguments made that the alternative pattern of wards would provide better representation to local people. As such, the proposed Berners ward will be replaced by a Ganges ward, Orwell ward and Stour ward, each to be represented by one councillor.


Full details of the final recommendations and other changes to the draft proposals are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Babergh District Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: