Share On:

LGBCE welcomes new Commissioners

19th January 2011

LGBCE welcomes new Commissioners


The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) welcomes two new commissioners.

Dr Colin Sinclair and Professor Paul Wiles have joined the Commission as of 5 November 2010.

Chair of the Commission, Max Caller, said, “Colin and Paul will make exceptional additions to the team and I welcome their appointments by the Secretary of State.

“Both have an outstanding record in their fields and they bring an impressive depth and breadth of experience to our organisation.

“This is the ideal time to be welcoming new commissioners. We have just embarked on a major consultation on our policies and procedures and the next twelve months will see the LGBCE embark on an ambitious programme of boundary and electoral reviews across England.

“The LGBCE’s work is driven by its independence, professionalism and fairness. These appointments both complement and strengthen the values of the Commission.

Professor Colin Mellors, a current commissioner at the LGBCE and member of its predecessor, the Boundary Committee for England, has also been appointed as Deputy Chair of the Commission.

Dr Peter Knight CBE, who has served on the LGCBE and the Boundary Committee, has been reappointed as a commissioner.

Joan Jones CBE has now completed her two terms of office and will leave the LGBCE. Max Caller said, “I would like to put on record my thanks to Joan for her immense contribution to the Boundary Committee and to the Commission. When it comes to local government, there are few people who share Joan’s level of insight and professionalism.”

With Max Caller and Jane Earl, former Chief Executive of Wokingham Council and Director of the Assets Recovery Agency, the LGBCE will now operate with six commissioners.


Notes to Editors:

1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) is an independent body set up by Parliament in April 2010. It is independent of Government and political parties, and is directly accountable to Parliament through a committee chaired by the Speaker of the House of Commons.

It is responsible for conducting three main types of review:

  • Electoral reviews – reviews of the internal electoral arrangements (the number of councillors and the names, number and boundaries of wards) of local authorities;
  • Principal area boundary reviews – reviewing and making recommendations to the Secretary of State on changes to the external boundaries of borough, city, district and county councils;
  • Structural reviews – at his request, advising the Secretary of State on any proposals he receives for moves to unitary local government.

2. Professor Paul Wiles: Professor Paul Wiles is currently Visiting Professor in Criminology at Oxford University, Fellow of Wolfson College and Honorary Professor at Sheffield University. Until Easter 2010 he was the government’s Chief Social Scientist and head of the Government Social Research Service. He was also Chief Scientific Advisor and Director of the Science and Research Group at the Home Office.

3. Dr Colin Sinclair: Former Chief Executive of Sunderland City Council, Dr Colin Sinclair is a local government expert with over 20 years experience in the sector. A specialist in strategic change management, Dr Sinclair has worked in some of the most challenging and complex local government environments. As well as serving as Sunderland’s Chief Executive, he has held senior positions at Birmingham City Council and within the Society of Local Authority Chief Executives (SOLACE). In his current role as independent local government expert, Dr Sinclair has advised councils across England.