Share On:

Leicestershire residents consulted on proposed changes to county council electoral arrangements

25th February 2004

Leicestershire residents consulted on proposed changes to county council electoral arrangements

24th February 2004

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

24 February 2004

Residents in Leicestershire are being asked for their views on new county council electoral arrangements. The Boundary Committee today publishes its draft recommendations for proposed changes to provide a better electoral balance. Most of the division boundaries in Leicestershire are likely to change.

The public consultation period begins today and runs until 26 April 2004. The Committee will take into account all representations received by this date when it produces its final recommendations to submit to The Electoral Commission. The Committee may change some or all of the proposals, depending on the responses it receives during the consultation period. It is therefore important that members of the public let the Committee have their views, whether or not they agree with the draft recommendations.

Commenting on the proposals, the Committees Chair, Pamela Gordon, said: At present, the electoral arrangements across Leicestershire are significantly unbalanced. For example, the worst imbalance is in Manor division in Oadby & Wigston, where the councillor represents 33% more electors than the county average, while the councillor for South Wigston division in Oadby & Wigston represents 37% fewer electors than the county average.

The aim of our review is to ensure that, as far as possible within each county, each persons vote should have the same value as anothers, without disrupting community identities. We are consulting until 26 April 2004 and I hope that all those affected by our proposals will tell us what they think about them.

The Committee recommends that there should be an increase in council size from 54 to 55 councillors.  The Committee is putting forward a combination of its own proposals and locally generated proposals in Blaby, Charnwood, Hinckley & Bosworth and North West Leicestershire, while in Harborough, Melton and Oadby & Wigston, the Committee is basing its recommendations entirely on locally generated schemes.  The Committee is proposing one two-member division in Charnwood, two two-member divisions in Hinckley and Bosworth and one two-member division in Oadby & Wigston.

Copies of the report are available from the Committees website at or by writing to the Committee, and will be available for reference at council offices and in public libraries.

Anyone wishing to make representations to the Committee on its draft recommendations should do so in writing no later than 26 April 2004 to: Team Leader (Leicestershire), The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW. All representations will be available for inspection (including the names and addresses of respondents unless otherwise specified), by appointment, at the Committees offices and copies will be available at the offices of the relevant local authority. A list of respondents is also available on request from the Committee.

For further information contact:

Elise Cross on 020 7271 0530 or Gemma Crosland on 020 7271 0527

Out of office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528

[email protected]

Notes to editors:

PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys help line on 023 8030 5092.

The present review of Leicestershire began on 11 March 2003

The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.