Share On:

Last chance to have your say on changes to Crewe and Nantwich electoral arrangements

29th June 2007

Last chance to have your say on changes to Crewe and Nantwich electoral arrangements

12th January 2007

The Boundary Committee for England is reminding people in Crewe and Nantwich that they have just 12 days left from today [12 January] to submit views on draft recommendations affecting council size and ward boundaries in their area. All submissions need to be received by the Committee by Monday 12 February.

The Committee is looking for feedback on the following proposals:

  • Increasing the size of Crewe and Nantwich Borough Council from 56 to 57 councillors.
  • Amendments to improve electoral equality and strengthen ward boundaries in St Johns, St Marys, Willaston, Wistaston Green and Valley wards.
  • A mixture of single-member, two-member and three-member wards.
  • Boundaries based on 26 wards.

The Committee would especially like to hear the views of local people on the warding in the centre of Crewe around the existing Coppenhall, Delamere and Grosvenor wards and ideas on how to improve the boundaries and access within Nantwich, specifically in the area to the north of Hospital Street.

Archie Gall, Director of the Boundary Committee said:

Time is running out for residents to have their say on the changes we have proposed. Were really keen to hear from everyone in Crewe and Nantwich on what they think of our plans to increase the number of councillors in their area, and how they feel about our changes to the ward boundaries. Its easy and simple to let us know what you think either write to us or go online by 12 February.

Anyone wishing to view the recommendations should visit the Boundary Committee website at Residents can give their feedback by post, by emailing [email protected], or by using the Committees online feedback form which is being piloted in Crewe as a way to make it easier for residents to comment on the Committees proposed changes. The form can be found at

Letters should be sent to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW. Responses need to be received by the 12 February   2007.




For further information contact:

Anna McGlynn on 0207 271 0530

Out of office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528

[email protected]

Notes to editors:

1.      The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.