Share On:

Have your say on ward boundaries for Suffolk’s newest two councils

3rd July 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England is asking Suffolk people to comment on plans for council ward boundaries in the county’s two new local authorities.


In May, the government confirmed that two new local authorities would be created in Suffolk. A new East Suffolk District Council will be formed of a merger between Suffolk Coastal and Waveney councils. West Suffolk District Council will be formed of a merger between St Edmundsbury and Forest Heath councils.


The Commission is asking for local views on the proposals before it finalises them in October.

The consultations run until 27 August 2018 and is open to anyone who is interested how the two council areas will be represented.


For East Suffolk, the Commission proposes that the council should have 55 councillors in total. The draft recommendations are for eight one-councillor wards, thirteen two-councillor wards and seven three-councillor wards.


In West Suffolk, the draft recommendations are for 64 councillors representing 27 one-councillor wards, seventeen two-councillor wards and one three-councillor ward.  


The boundaries will come into effect at the first elections for each authority in May 2019.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said: “We are publishing proposals for ward boundaries for the new East Suffolk and West Suffolk District Councils and we are keen to hear what local people think of the recommendations.


“Over the next eight weeks, we are asking people and organisations to tell us if they agree with the wards we have drawn or if not, how they can be improved. 


“We will consider all the submissions we receive, whoever they are from and whether your evidence applies to the whole of the council area or just your part of it.


The full recommendations and detailed interactive maps are available on the Commission’s website at and Hard copies of the Commission’s report and maps will also be available to view at council buildings.




West Suffolk

Image removed.


Illustrate your story with a map of the recommendations. High res version available at: 


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


East Suffolk


Image removed.

Illustrate your story with a map of the recommendations. High res version available at:


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


The Commission wants to hear as much evidence as possible to develop final recommendations. Anyone wishing to make a submission to the Commission should write or email by 27 August 2018.


By post:


The Review Officer (East Suffolk/West Suffolk)

Local Government Boundary Commission for England

1st floor, Windsor House

50 Victoria Street




Email: [email protected]


Give us your views online:


Follow us on Twitter @LGBCE


For further information contact:

Press Office: 0330 500 1250 / 1525

[email protected]




Key to maps:


West Suffolk:



  1. Abbeygate
  2. Bardwell
  3. Barningham
  4. Barrow
  5. Brandon Central
  6. Brandon East
  7. Brandon West
  8. Cavendish
  9. Chedburgh & Chevington
  10. Clare
  11. Eastgate
  12. Exning
  13. Gibraltar
  14. Great Heath
  15. Hardwick Heath
  16. Haverhill Central
  17. Haverhill East
  18. Haverhill North
  19. Haverhill South
  20. Haverhill South East
  21. Haverhill West
  22. Horringer
  23. Hundon & Wickhambrook
  24. Iceni
  25. Ixworth
  26. Kedington
  27. Kentford & Moulton
  28. Kingsway
  29. Lakenheath
  30. Linnet
  31. Manor
  32. Moreton Hall
  33. Newmarket East
  34. Newmarket North
  35. Newmarket West
  36. Pakenham & Troston
  37. Queensway
  38. Risby
  39. Rougham
  40. St Olaves
  41. Stanton
  42. The Fornhams & Great Barton
  43. The Rows
  44. Tollgate
  45. Withersfield



East Suffolk:



  1. Beccles & Worlingham
  2. Blyth Estuary
  3. Blything
  4. Carlford & Fynn Valley
  5. Carlton & Whitton
  6. Carlton Colville
  7. Deben & Ore
  8. Felixstowe North
  9. Felixstowe South
  10. Framlingham
  11. Gunton & St Margarets
  12. Harbour & Normanston
  13. Kelsale & Yoxford
  14. Kesgrave
  15. Kessingland
  16. Kirkley & Pakefield
  17. Leiston
  18. Lothingland
  19. Martlesham & Purdis Farm
  20. Melton
  21. Orwell & Villages
  22. Oulton Broad
  23. Rendlesham & Wickham Market
  24. Rushmere St Andrew
  25. Sandlings
  26. Saxmundham
  27. Wainford
  28. Woodbridge



Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected, as well as conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structures.
  2. The types of questions the Commission is asking residents at this stage are:
  • Do the proposed wards reflect local communities?
  • How do you think the proposals can be improved whilst maintaining electoral equality?
  • Are the names of the proposed wards right?
  1. Residents have from 3 July 2018 until 27 August 2018 to have their say about where ward boundaries for East Suffolk District Council and West Suffolk District Council should be drawn. The Commission will consider all submissions and aims to publish its final recommendations in October 2018. Once the Commission agrees its final recommendations it will lay a draft order in both Houses of Parliament. Parliament will then have 40 days in which to consider the recommendations. If both Houses are satisfied with the recommendations, the draft order will be ‘made’ and the new wards will come into effect at the council elections in May 2019.