Share On:

Have your say on new political map of Warwick

3rd April 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England is asking people across Warwick to comment on its draft proposals for new council ward boundaries.


The Commission’s plans would mean changes to every ward in Warwick.


Warwick Summary Map




Illustrate your story with a map of the recommendations. High res version available at:


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


A 10-week public consultation on the recommendations begins today and will end on 11 June 2018. The consultation is open to anyone who wants to have their say on new council wards, ward boundaries and ward names across Warwick.


The Commission’s draft recommendations propose that Warwick District Council should have 44 councillors in future: this is two fewer than now. The recommendations also outline how those councillors should represent 11 three-councillor wards, five two-councillor wards and one single-councillor ward across the district.


The full recommendations and detailed interactive maps are available on the Commission’s website at and Hard copies of the Commission’s report and maps will also be available to view at council buildings.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said: “We are publishing proposals for a new pattern of wards across Warwick and we are keen to hear what local people think of the recommendations.


“Over the next 10 weeks, we are asking local people to tell us if they agree with the proposals or if not, how they can be improved. 


“Our review aims to deliver electoral equality for local voters. This means that each councillor represents a similar number of people, so that everyone’s vote in council elections is worth roughly the same, regardless of where you live.


“We also want to ensure that our proposals reflect the interests and identities of local communities across Warwick, and that the pattern of wards helps the council deliver effective local government for local people.


“We will consider all the submissions we receive, whoever they are from and whether your evidence applies to the whole district or just a part of it.


The Commission wants to hear as much evidence as possible to develop final recommendations for Warwick. If you would like to make a submission to the Commission, please write or email us by 11 June 2018.


The Review Officer (Warwick)

Local Government Boundary Commission for England

14th floor, Millbank Tower




Email: [email protected]


Follow us on Twitter @LGBCE


Have your say directly through the Commission’s consultation portal:


Link to the dedicated web page for the Warwick District Council electoral review:


For further information contact:

Press Office: 0330 500 1250 / 1525

[email protected]




Notes to editors:


  1. Key of ward names for the above map:

1.   Bishop’s Tachbrook

2.   Budbrooke

3.   Cubbington & Leek Wootton

4.   Kenilworth Park Hill

5.   Kenilworth St John's

6.   Lapworth & West Kenilworth

7.   Leamington Brunswick

8.   Leamington Clarendon

9.   Leamington Milverton

10. Leamington North

11. Leamington Willes

12. Radford Semele

13. Warwick Aylesford

14. Warwick Myton & Heathcote

15. Warwick Saltisford

16. Warwick Woodloes

17. Whitnash

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected, as well as conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structures.
  2. The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Warwick District Council to deliver electoral equality for voters across Warwick, because of a request from the Council.
  3. The types of questions the Commission is asking residents at this stage are:
  • Do the proposed wards reflect local communities?
  • How do you think the proposals can be improved whilst maintaining electoral equality?
  • Are the names of the proposed wards right?
  1. Residents have from 3 April until 11 June 2018 to have their say about where ward boundaries for Warwick District Council should be drawn. The Commission will consider all submissions and aims to publish its final recommendations in August 2018. Once the Commission agrees its final recommendations it will lay a draft order in both Houses of Parliament. Parliament will then have 40 days in which to consider the recommendations. If both Houses are satisfied with the recommendations, the draft order will be ‘made’ and the new wards will come into effect at the council elections in May 2019.