Share On:

Have your say on new council ward boundaries in Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole

3rd July 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England is asking local people to comment on plans for council ward boundaries across the new Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council.


In May, the government confirmed that local government in Dorset should change with the county and all other councils replaced by two new councils. In the east of the county, a new Bournemouth Christchurch and Poole Council has been proposed.


The Commission’s consultation proposes ward boundaries to be used to elect councillors in the new authority. The Commission is asking for local views on the proposals before it finalises them in October. A consultation is taking place at the same time on new ward boundaries for Dorset Council which will cover the western part of the county.


The consultation runs until 27 August 2018 and is open to anyone who is interested how they will be represented in Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole.


The Commission proposes that the council should have 76 councillors in total. The plans propose twenty-three two-councillor wards and ten three-councillor wards.


The boundaries will come into effect at the first election for the authority in May 2019.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said: “We are publishing proposals for ward boundaries for the new Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council and we are keen to hear what local people think of the recommendations.


“Over the next eight weeks, we are asking people and organisations to tell us if they agree with the wards we have drawn or if not, how they can be improved. 


“We will consider all the submissions we receive, whoever they are from and whether your evidence applies to the whole of the council area or just your part of it.


The full recommendations and detailed interactive maps are available on the Commission’s website at and Hard copies of the Commission’s report and maps will also be available to view at council buildings.



Illustrate your story with a map of the recommendations. High res version available at:


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


The Commission wants to hear as much evidence as possible to develop final recommendations. Anyone wishing to make a submission to the Commission should write or email by 27 August 2018.


By post:


The Review Officer (Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole)

Local Government Boundary Commission for England

1st floor, Windsor House

50 Victoria Street




Email: [email protected]


Give us your views online:


Follow us on Twitter @LGBCE


For further information contact:

Press Office: 0330 500 1250 / 1525

[email protected]




Key to map:


1.         Alderney & Bourne Valley                  18.       Moordown

2.         Bearwood & Kinson South                 19.       Mudeford

3.         Boscombe East                                   20.       Muscliff & Strouden Park

4.         Boscombe West                                  21.       Newtown

5.         Bournemouth Central                         22.       Oakdale

6.         Broadstone & Merley                          23.       Parkstone

7.         Burton Grange                                    24.       Penn Hill

8.         Canford Cliffs                                      25.       Poole Town

9.         Canford Heath                                    26.       Queen’s Park

10.       Christchurch Central                           27.       Redhill & Northbourne

11.       Commons                                           28.       Talbot & Branksome Woods

12.       Creekmoor                                          29.       Walkford & Highcliffe

13.       East Cliff & Springbourne                   30.       Wallisdown & Winton West

14.       East Southbourne & Tuckton             31.       West Southbourne

15.       Hamworthy                                         32.       Westbourne & West Cliff

16.       Kinson North                                       33.       Winton East

17.       Littledown & Iford                               



Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected, as well as conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structures.
  2. The types of questions the Commission is asking residents at this stage are:
  • Do the proposed wards reflect local communities?
  • How do you think the proposals can be improved whilst maintaining electoral equality?
  • Are the names of the proposed wards right?
  1. Residents have from 3 July 2018 until 27 August 2018 to have their say about where ward boundaries for Bournmeouth, Christchurch and Poole Council should be drawn. The Commission will consider all submissions and aims to publish its final recommendations in October 2018. Once the Commission agrees its final recommendations it will lay a draft order in both Houses of Parliament. Parliament will then have 40 days in which to consider the recommendations. If both Houses are satisfied with the recommendations, the draft order will be ‘made’ and the new wards will come into effect at the council elections in May 2019.