Share On:

Hampshire residents consulted on proposed changes to county council electoral arrangements

13th January 2004

Hampshire residents consulted on proposed changes to county council electoral arrangements

13th January 2004

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Residents in Hampshire are being asked for their views on new county council electoral arrangements. The Boundary Committee today publishes its draft recommendations for proposed changes to provide a better electoral balance. These recommendations are based on locally generated schemes in five of Hampshire's eleven districts and boroughs. Most of the division boundaries in Hampshire are likely to change.

The public consultation period begins today and runs until 8 March 2004. The Committee will take into account all representations received by this date when it produces its final recommendations to submit to The Electoral Commission. The Committee may change some or all of the proposals, depending on the responses it receives during the consultation period. It is therefore important that members of the public let the Committee have their views, whether or not they agree with the draft recommendations.

Commenting on the proposals, the Committee's Chairman, Pamela Gordon, says: 'At present, the electoral arrangements across Hampshire are significantly unbalanced. For example, the worst imbalance is in Fareham Western Wards division in Fareham, where the councillor represents 98% more electors than the county average, while the councillor for Basingstoke East division in Basingstoke & Deane represents 36% fewer electors than the county average.'

'The aim of our review is to ensure that, as far as possible within each county, each person's vote should have the same value as another's, without disrupting community identities. We are consulting until 8 March 2004 and I hope that all those affected by our proposals will tell us what they think about them.'

The Committee recommends that there should be an increase in council size from 74 to 78 councillors.  In Basingstoke & Deane borough, East Hampshire district, Fareham borough, Gosport borough, Havant borough and Test Valley borough the Committee is putting forward a combination of its own proposals and locally generated proposals. In Eastleigh borough, Hart district, New Forrest district, Rushmoor borough and Winchester city the Committee is basing its proposals entirely on a local scheme. The Committee is proposing two two-member divisions in, Basingstoke & Deane borough one two-member division in Fareham, one two-member division in Gosport borough and one two member division in Havant.

Copies of the report are available from the Committee's website at or by writing to the Committee, and will be available for reference at council offices and in public libraries.

Anyone wishing to make representations to the Committee on its draft recommendations should do so in writing no later than 8 March 2004 to: Team Leader (Hampshire), The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW. All representations will be available for inspection, by appointment (including the names and addresses of respondents unless otherwise specified), at the Committee's offices and copies will be available at the offices of the relevant local authority. A list of respondents is also available on request from the Committee.

For further information contact:

Elise Cross on 020 7271 0530 or Gemma Crosland on 020 7271 0527

Out of office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528

[email protected]

Notes to editors:

1.      PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committee's website For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Survey's helpline on 023 8030 5092.

2.      The present review of Hampshire began on 6 August 2002

3.      The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.