Share On:

Final recommendations for Telford and Wrekin electoral arrangements

1st November 2003

Final recommendations for Telford and Wrekin electoral arrangements

3rd April 2002

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Telford & Wrekin are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a year-long review. They include changes to ward boundaries across the district.

Pamela Gordon, Committee Chair said: 'The review of Telford and Wrekin began in March 2001.  During Autumn 2001 a successful public consultation on the draft recommendations was carried out and the responses received have led us to confirm the proposals without modification.

The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one person's vote should have the same value as another's. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.'

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committee's recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

The Committee is confirming the draft recommendations as final.  The Committee's proposals are for 54 councillors for Telford and Wrekin (no change) representing 33 wards (reduced from 34).

The Committee's report is available at the Council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the report can also be obtained by writing to the Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

Note to editors:

  1. Contact Ordnance Survey's helpline on 023 8030 5092 to obtain copyright permission for the use of maps.
  2. The present review of Telford & Wrekin began on 27 March 2001. Draft recommendations were published on 9 October 2001.
  3. The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.

For further details contact:

Press office - 020 7271 0527 or 0529
Out of office hours - 07789 920 414

E-mail - [email protected]