Share On:

Final recommendations for Reading electoral arrangements

1st November 2003

Final recommendations for Reading electoral arrangements

7th June 2002

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Reading were submitted to the Electoral Commission yesterday. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a year-long review. They include changes to ward boundaries across the borough.

Pamela Gordon, Committee Chairman said: 'The review of Reading began in June 2001. During spring 2002 a public consultation on draft recommendations was carried out. The responses received have led to us changing some of the proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one person's vote should have the same value as another's. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.'

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committee's recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

Having considered carefully all the representations and evidence received in response to the draft recommendations report, we are substantially endorsing the draft recommendations. The Committee's proposals are for 46 councillors for Reading, increased from 45, representing 16 wards increased from 15.

The Committee's report is available at Council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the report can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

Notes to editors:

  1. Contact Ordanance Survey's helpline on 023 8030 5092 to obtain copyright permission for the use of maps.
  2. The present review of Reading began on Tuesday 12 June 2001. Draft recommendations were published on Tuesday 15 January 2002. 
  3. The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.

For further details contact:

Press office - 020 7271 0527 or 0529
Out of office hours - 07789 920 414

E-mail - [email protected]