Share On:

Final recommendations for Leicestershire electoral arrangements

1st November 2003

Final recommendations for Leicestershire electoral arrangements

7th June 2002

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Final plans for new electoral arrangements for the districts of Leicestershire were submitted to The Electoral Commission yesterday. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a year-long review process. They include changes to ward boundaries across each district.

Pamela Gordon, Committee Chairman said: 'The review of the districts of Leicestershire began in June 2001.  Earlier this year we carried out a successful public consultation on the draft proposals and the responses we received have led to us changing some of the proposals before we submit them to The Electoral Commission. The aim of our review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one person's vote should have the same value as another's. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.'

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committee's recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

The Committee is substantially confirming the draft recommendations as final, with some amendments. 

Blaby - the Committee proposes placing the area to the south of Dog and Gun Lane with Cosby Parish at a District level.  The Committee also proposes changing the name of the proposed Braunstone ward to Ravenshurst and Fosse ward, changing the name of proposed Stanton ward to Stanton and Flamville ward and the names of Blaby South and Winchester parish and district wards to Blaby South.  The Committee also proposes changing the distribution of parish councillors between the three parish wards in Enderby Parish to more accurately reflect the population of the parish wards.  Overall the Committee recommend maintaining the existing arrangement of 39 councillors for Blaby representing 18 wards (reduced from 21).

Charnwood - the Committee confirms the draft recommendations to maintain the current number of councillors at 52, representing 28 wards (a reduction of one).  However in light of the views expressed during the consultation period the Committee is not proposing to ward the parish of Rothley.

Harborough - the Committee proposes a number of changes to the draft recommendations.  It is proposes that Thorpe Langton parish be transferred from the proposed Billesdon ward to the proposed Kibworth ward to better reflect community identity.  It also proposes that Market Harborough - St Lukes ward be renamed Market Harborough - Arden ward and that the boundary between the wards of Market Harborough - Arden and Market Harborough - Logan be modified.  The Committee's proposals are for 37 councillors for Harborough (no change) representing 25 wards (a reduction of one).

Hinckley and Bosworth - the Committee confirms the draft proposals as final, with minor amendments.  In the north-east of the borough, the Committee proposes utilising the Borough Council's original Ratby, Bagworth and Thornton and Newbold Verdon with Desford and Peckleton wards.  The Committee also proposes four ward name changes in the Hinckley area, and two ward name changes in Burbage.  The Committee's proposals are for 34 councillors for Hinckley and Bosworth (no change) representing 16 wards (a reduction of two).

Melton - the Committee confirms its draft recommendations with four amendments.  In the urban area, the ward proposals are confirmed, but with each of the ward name prefaced by Melton in all areas apart from Mowbray ward, where to avoid confusion, the proposed ward will be called Melton Dorian.  In light of representations made following the draft recommendations, The Committee proposes maintaining the existing single member Old Dalby ward and creating an amended single-member Waltham-on-the-Wolds ward.  Finally the Committee proposes a slight amendment to the proposed boundary between Wymondham ward and Croxton Kerrial ward. The Committee proposals are for 28 Councillors for Melton (an increase of two) representing 16 wards (a reduction of one).

North West Leicestershire - the Committee confirms the draft recommendations, subject to three amendments following representations at the consultation stage.  It is proposed that Castle, Holywell and Ivanhoe wards be renamed Ashby Castle, Ashby Holywell and Ashby Ivanhoe wards respectively.  The Committee's final recommendations are for 38 councillors for North West Leicestershire (a reduction of two) representing 20 wards (a reduction of two).

Oadby and Wigston - the Committee confirms its draft recommendations with some amendments to ward names.  The Committee proposes including the names of Oadby, South Wigston and Wigston towns in the proposed ward names.  The Committee also proposes Wigston Waterleys as a new name ward name for the proposed Wigston Fields ward.   The Committee's proposals are for 26 Councillors for Oadby and Wigston (no change) representing 10 wards (no change).

The full report is available at the Council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the report can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

Notes to editors:

  1. Contact Ordnance Survey's helpline on 023 8030 5092 to obtain copyright permission for maps.
  2. The present review of the districts in Leicestershire began on 12 June 2001. Draft recommendations were published on 15 January 2002.
  3. The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.

For further details contact:

Press office - 020 7271 0527 or 0529
Out of office hours - 07789 920 414

E-mail - [email protected]