Share On:

Final recommendations for Hillingdon Council

4th June 2019

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Hillingdon Council


Embargoed until: 00.01, 4 June 2019


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Hillingdon Council.



Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2019


Today’s publication follows two rounds of public consultation and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Hillingdon.


All but two current council wards in Hillingdon will change as a result of the review.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Hillingdon should be represented by 53 borough councillors in the future: twelve fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent twelve three-councillor wards, eight two-councillor wards and one one-councillor ward.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Hillingdon who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties.”


In response to local feedback during public consultation, the Commission has made changes to some of the proposals it published in January 2018.


In the north of the borough, the Commission has decided that the Pembroke Park area should be part of Eastcote ward rather than Ruislip ward as previously proposed. The change follows representations made by local people and organisations during the public consultation.


The Commission has also responded positively to local views and has changed its proposals so that the area between Larkswood Rise and Pike’s End will be part of the Northwood Hills ward. Likewise, the open space to the south of Salisbury Road will also be part of Northwood Hills ward. The Commission was persuaded to amend its recommendations by high quality local evidence put to it during consultation.


Elsewhere in the borough, the Commission has also made a small change to its proposed boundaries so that Ruislip station will be in the Ruislip ward rather than Ruislip Manor ward.


In Harefield, the Commission received representations that objected to its proposal to create a Harefield Village ward alongside an Ickenham & South Harefield ward. The Commission considered options to keep Harefield and South Harefield together in the same ward. However, they were not presented with a viable proposal that would deliver good levels of fairness for voters, avoided dividing cohesive communities elsewhere in the borough or provided effective representation for local people. It has therefore confirmed its draft recommendations in the north western part of the borough as final.


The Commission has made further minor amendments to the wards it originally proposed after listening to local feedback. The changes, and the full recommendations, are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2022.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email:


Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: