Share On:

Changes to Shropshire electoral arrangements finalised

25th February 2010

Changes to Shropshire electoral arrangements finalised

13th March 2009

The Electoral Commission has agreed the new local government electoral arrangements for Shropshire, following recommendations by the Boundary Committee for England. The new county electoral divisions will come into force at the 2009 county elections on 4 June 2009.

Shropshire will become a new Unitary Authority on 1 April 2009. The new unitary authority will replace the existing district & county councils and take on responsibility for the provision of local government services in Shropshire.

The Electoral Commission directed the Boundary Committee to recommend appropriate electoral arrangements for the new unitary authority of Shropshire, and to ensure electoral equality in other words, that the number of electors represented by each councillor is approximately the same.

Following representations made to the Electoral Commission, the Boundary Committees recommendations were implemented with only one modification.

The orders were made on 6 March 2009, and will be published on the Office of Public Sector Information website (

To see the new local government boundaries, maps are available on the Electoral Commission website: /all-reviews/west-midlands/shropshire/shropshire-unitary-authority


For further information contact the Press Office:

9am-6pm weekdays: 020 7271 0704

outside office hours: 07789 920414

[email protected]

Notes to editors:

1. The Electoral Commission is an independent body set up by the UK Parliament. Our aim is integrity and public confidence in the UKs democratic process. We regulate party and election finance and set standards for well-run elections.

2. The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) is a statutory committee of the Electoral Commission.

3. After the BCFE published their final recommendations, the public had 8 weeks during which to put representations to the Commission about those recommendations. That period ended on 9 January.

4. Having analysed the representations, the Electoral Commission accepted one modification to the BC's final recommendations in the proposed electoral divisions of Castlefields and Ditherington, and Quarry and Coton Hill.

· Part of the boundary separating these two electoral divisions ran along Victoria Street. 6 properties located on Victoria street were placed into the neighbouring electoral division of Quarry and Coton Hill, while all the other properties located on Victoria Street were in the Castlefields and Ditherington division. The County Council expressed their preference for the boundary to be extended so that those 6 properties could be included in the Castlefields and Ditherington division.