Share On:

Boundary Committee publishes electoral arrangements for Wiltshire unitary authority

25th February 2010

Boundary Committee publishes electoral arrangements for Wiltshire unitary authority

14th November 2008

The Boundary Committee for England has published its final recommendations on what the electoral arrangements for the new Wiltshire unitary authority should look like.

The majority of the Committees draft recommendations, published for public consultation on 1 July, have been retained in the final recommendations, including the decision that the new authority should be served by a council size of 98 members. However, there have been some modifications to electoral divisions as a result of that consultation.

Archie Gall, Director of the Boundary Committee, said "The recommendations we make today are the product of months of work by the Boundary Committee and the involvement of the people of Wiltshire through public consultation. The aim of reviews such as this is to ensure that local government electoral arrangements are right for the people of Wiltshire and help to provide a firm foundation for the start of the new unitary authority."

The Committees full report is available to download at The recommendations will now be sent to the Electoral Commission, who must check that the Boundary Committee has followed the correct procedures and that the recommendations the Committee has made are sound. As part of this work, the Electoral Commission will receive representations until 9 January 2009 before it can make an Order (the legal instrument that implements the recommendations).


For further information contact


Gareth Nicholson on 020 7271 0638

[email protected]  

outside office hours: 07789 920414

Notes to editors

1. The Boundary Committee has made final recommendations that division boundaries are changed from those put forward in its draft recommendations in the following areas: Amesbury; Bradford-on-Avon; Chippenham; Erlestoke; Warminster; Westbury; Wootton Bassett.

2. The Boundary Committee for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected, and for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.

3. Representations made to the Electoral Commission in respect of the Boundary Committees final recommendations should be sent to:

Legal and Implementation Team

Electoral Commission

Trevelyan House

Great Peter Street

London SW1P 2HW

Fax 020 7271 0505

E-mail: [email protected]