Share On:

Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Wiltshire

2nd March 2004

Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Wiltshire

2nd March 2004

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

2 March 2004

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Wiltshire are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in July 2002. They include changes to ward boundaries across the area.

Pamela Gordon, Committee Chairman said: During spring 2003 a successful public consultation on the draft recommendations was carried out. The responses have lead to us changing some of the proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one persons vote should have the same value as anothers. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committees recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

We are broadly confirming our draft recommendations as final, subject to some modifications.  In North Wiltshire we are adopting a locally generated scheme across the south of the district in order to improve community identity whilst maintaining good electoral quality. In Salisbury we are proposing two new division names and in West Wiltshire we are proposing four new division names, to better reflect the identities of their respective communities. Our final recommendations are for a council size of 49, an increase of two, representing 46 divisions.

The Committees reports are available on its website at or at council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the reports can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

For further information contact:

Elise Cross on 020 7271 0530 or Gemma Crosland on 020 7271 0527

Out of Office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528

[email protected]


Notes to editors:

  1. PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website  For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys helpline on 023 8030 5092.
  2. The present review of Wiltshire began on 9 July 2002. Draft recommendations were published on 28 May and are also available on the Committees web site at
  3. The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.