LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Leeds

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Leeds City Council. 

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

 

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Leeds.

Recommendations become law

The Leeds (Electoral Changes) Order 2017, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Leeds, was made on 8 November 2017.

New ward arrangements for Leeds City Council have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2018. The Order for Leeds City Council can be viewed through the following link.

On 10 July 2017, the Leeds (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

Now that that draft Order has successfully passed through Parliament, it will give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements for Leeds City Council, and published on 14 March 2017.

The draft Order can be viewed here.

The draft Order refers to a map which can be viewed here.

On 14 March 2017 we published our final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Leeds City Council. The report is available in the link below:

·         Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Leeds City Council (PDF)

·         Summary of the Leeds City Council report (PDF)

·         News release

·         Letter to the Chief Executive of Leeds City Council (PDF)

·         Overview map of the Leeds City Council final recommendations (PDF)

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Leeds City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Leeds City Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on the 10 January 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

Leeds City Council

Councillors:

Cllr Carter

Cllr Leadley

Political Groups:

Leeds Liberal Democrats

Parish and Town Councils:

Shadwell Parish Council

Local Organisations:

Aireborough Neighbouurhood Development Forum

Beeston Community Forum

Friends of Stank Hall

Garforth Neighbourhood Planning Forum

Leeds HMO Lobby

Rawdon GBAG

Local Residents:

The submissions from local residents have been collated into one document. They have been sorted alphabetically, by surname:

Local Residents


On 15 November 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Leeds City Council. Between 15 November 2016 and 10 January 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below. 

·         Draft recommendations report for Leeds City Council

·         Summary of the Leeds report

·         News release on draft recommendations for Leeds City Council

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Leeds City Council

·         An overview map of Leeds City Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. Please note this spreadsheet was updated on 22 December 2016.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 5 September 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Local Residents:

All of the submissions that we received from the local residents are contained in the document below:

Local Residents

Councillors:

Cllr Stephenson

Parish and Town Councils:

Arthington Parish Council

Bramhope Carlton Parish Council

Gildersome Parish Council

Rawdon Parish Council

Local Authority:

Leeds City Council

Political Groups:

Leeds Liberal Democrats

Local Organisations:

Farsley Live at Home Scheme

Horsforth Civic Society


On 5th July 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Leeds City Council. Between 5 July and 5th September 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Leeds City Council should have 99 councillors in the future, which is same as present.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Leeds to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 99 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Leeds City Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the Leeds City Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF) 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area, post code or have your say.

You can make a submission to the Leeds electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Leeds)
   Local Government Boundary Commission for England
   14th Floor Millbank Tower
   Millbank
   London

   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with the Leeds City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Leeds City Council).

We received 1 submission on council size:

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Leeds on 8 May 2002. The review was completed on 29 July 2003. 

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final recommendations published on 29 July 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Leeds

Map 2 Proposed wards in Leeds

Map A1 Final recommendations key map

Large map 1,large map 2,large map 3, 4 and 5,large map 6,large map 7,large maps 8 and 12,large map 9,large map 10,large map 11, illustrate the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Leeds.

Draft recommendations published on 11 February 2003

Map 1 Existing wards in leeds

Map 2 Proposed wards in Leeds

Map A1 Draft recommendations key map

Large map 1, large map 2, large map 3/4/5, large map 6, large map 7, large maps 8 and 12, large map 9, large map 10, large map 11, large map 12. These large maps illustrate the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Leeds.

Review Dates


Date From:
Date To:
Consultation on warding arrangements
5 July 2016
5 September 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
15 November 2016
10 January 2017
Final recommendations
14 March 2017