" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Rotherham

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Rotherham Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Rotherham.

 

 

 

 

On 4 July 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Rotherham Borough Council. Between 4 July 2017 and 4 September 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for Rotherham Borough Council

·         Summary of the Rotherham report

·         News release on draft recommendations for Rotherham Borough Council

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Rotherham Borough Council

·         An overview map of Rotherham Borough Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

·        Summary Map of Rotherham Borough Council (JPEG)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Rotherham electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Rotherham)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on 8 May 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council

Councillors:

Cllr Carter

Cllr Jepson

Local Organisations:

Waverley Residents Association

Parish and Town Councils:

Dalton Parish Council

Orgreave Parish Council

Ravenfield Parish Council

Thrybergh Parish Council

Ulley Parish Council

Whiston Parish Council

Woodsetts Parish Council

Local Residents:

Appleyard T

Bennett C

Field S

Frith P

Machan J

McGrother M

Reeder R

Rodgers J

Roke I

Ronksley M

Straw S

Ward M


On 28 February 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council. Between 28 February 2017 and 8 May 2017, we are invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council should have 59 councillors in the future, 4 less that present.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Rotherham to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 59 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Rotherham Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Rotherham (North) polling district map

Rotherham (South) polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council Size Submission

Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council Size Submission addendum

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Rotherham on 8 May 2002.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final recommendations, published on on 27 August 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Rotherham

Map 2 The Committe's final recommendations for Rotherham

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps.

Large map 1, large map 2, large map 3, large map 4, large map 5, large map 6, large map 7,

Draft recommendations, published on 11 February 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Rotherham

Map 2 Draft recommendations for Rotherham

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the existing and proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps.

Large map 1, large map 2, large map 3, large map 4, large map 5, large map 6 and large map 7.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
28 February 2017
8 May 2017
Draft recommendations published
4 July 2017
4 September 2017
Final recommendations published
31 October 2017

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more