The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Scarborough Borough Council.

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Scarborough.

 

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Scarborough

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Scarborough Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Scarborough.

On 27 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Scarborough Borough Council. Between 27 June 2017 and 4 September 2017, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Scarborough Borough Council should have 45 councillors in the future; a reduction of five.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Scarborough to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 45 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Scarborough Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Scarborough Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Scarborough polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say.

You can make a submission to the Scarborough electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Scarborough)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Scarborough Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Scarborough Borough Council). We received 2 submissions on council size:

Scarborough Borough Council

Whitby Town Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Draft report published 25 May 1999.

Final report published 30 November 1999.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
27 June 2017
4 September 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
31 October 2017
15 January 2018
Final recommendations published
3 April 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more