LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Richmondshire

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Richmondshire District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Richmondshire.

On 31 October 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Richmondshire District Council. Between 31 October 2017 and 15 January 2018 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for Richmondshire District Council

·         Draft recommendations map for Richmondshire District Council - please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

·         Summary of the Richmondshire report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Richmondshire District Council

Parish and Town Councils with electoral changes:

·         Colburn Parish Council

·         Richmond Town Council

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping, visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Richmondshire electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Richmondshire)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements for Richmondshire closed on 5 September 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Richmondshire District Council (1)

Richmondshire District Council (2)

Richmondshire District Council (3)

Councillors:

Cllr Blackie (1)

Cllr Blackie (2)

Cllr Blackie (3)

Cllr Blackie (4)

Cllr Blackie (5)

Cllr Cullen

Cllr Dale

Cllr Dawson

Cllr Duff

Cllr Hodgson

Cllr Linehan (1)

Cllr Linehan (2)

Cllr Whitehead

PCllr Alderson

PCllr Brampton

PCllr Rhodes

PCllr Watkins

Local Organisations:

North Yorkshire Youth

Parish and Town Councils:

Aysgarth and District Council (1)

Aysgarth and District Council (2)

Brompton-on-Swale Parish Council

Carperby cum Thoresby Parish Council

Colburn Town Council

Grinton and Ellerton Abbey Parish Council

Hawes and High Abbotside Parish Council

Hudswell and District Parish Council 

Melbecks Parish Council

Moulton Parish Meeting

Muker Parish Council

Patrick Brompton Parish Council 

Preston under Scar Parish Council

Richmond Town Council

Scorton Parish Council

Skeeby Parish Council 

St Martins Parish Council

Local Residents:

Amsden J

Booth M

Chadwick K

Clayton B

Eccles J

Edgar J

Farrar D

Farrar J

Foster J

Hunter A

James L

McMullon J

Porteous P

Russel R

Sheldon S

Sherwood A and L

Thubron S

Watson P

Delf W


On 27 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Richmondshire District Council. Between 27 June 2017 and 4 September 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Richmondshire District Council should have 24 councillors in the future; a reduction of ten.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Richmondshire to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 24 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Richmondshire District Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district maps below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Richmondshire District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Richmondshire polling district map 1

Richmondshire polling district map 2

Summary map of existing ward boundaries

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Richmondshire District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Richmondshire District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Richmondshire District Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Draft report published 25 May 1999.

Final report published 30 November 1999.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
27 June 2017
4 September 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
31 October 2017
15 January 2018
Final recommendations published
3 April 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more