Draft and final recommendation reports for Harrogate, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Harrogate

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission's electoral review of Harrogate was completed in March 2017. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Harrogate councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Harrogate (Electoral Changes) Order 2017, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Harrogate, was made on 30 March 2017.

New ward arrangements for Harrogate have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2018.

The order for Harrogate can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2017/477

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 February 2017 the Harrogate (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Harrogate, which were published on 6 December 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Harrogate in 2018.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2017/9780111153697

On 6 December 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Harrogate Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

·         Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Harrogate Borough Council

·         Summary of the Harrogate report

·         News release

·         Letter to the Chief Executive of Harrogate Borough Council

·         Overview map of the Harrogate Borough Council final recommendations

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Harrogate. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Harrogate Borough Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on the draft recommendations for Harrogate closed on 22 August 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Harrogate Borough Council

Councillors:

Cllr Broadbank

Local Organisations:

North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service

Parish and Town Councils:

Azerley Parish Council

Knaresborough Town Council

Pateley Bridge Town Council

Scriven Parish Council

Tockwith with Wilstrop Parish Council

Local Residents:

Anonymous

Mr Fox, I

Mr Hutchings, R

Mr McGrath, A

Mr Robinson, B

Mr Woodward, M

We also received a late submission from Mansfield, T&B

____________________________________________________________________________

On 28 June 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the Electoral review of Harrogate Borough Council. Between 28 June 2016 and 22 August we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Harrogate electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Harrogate)
   Local Government Boundary Commission for England
   14th Floor Millbank Tower
   Millbank
   London
   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on the 4 April 2016.

Below are all the submissions we received

Local Residents:

Ede S (PDF)

Leather M (PDF)

Rhodes D (PDF)

Skardon P (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr Edmondstone (PDF)

Parish and Town Council:

Boroughbridge TC (PDF)

Knaresborough TC (PDF)

Pately TC (PDF)

Scriven PC (PDF)

City Council:

Ripon City Council (PDF)

Local Authority:

Harrogate Borough Council (PDF)

 

On 26 January 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Harrogate Borough Council. Between 26 January and 4 April 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Harrogate Borough Council should have 40 councillors in the future, 14 fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Harrogate to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 40 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Harrogate Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Harrogate Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Harrogate Borough Council). We received 2 submissions on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Draft report published 25 May 1999.

Final report published 30 November 1999.