" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Kingston-upon-Hull

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Hull City Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Kingston upon Hull.

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 25 October 2017, the Kingston upon Hull (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Kingston upon Hull and published on 3 October 2017.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Kingston upon Hull in 2018.

The draft order can be viewed here.

On 3 October 2017, we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Kingston upon Hull. The report is available in the link below.

·         Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Hull City Council

·         Summary of the Hull report

·         News release

·         Letter to the Chief Executive of Hull City Council

·         Overview map of the Hull City Council final recommendations

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. The mapping files used for the consultation portal can be downloaded here.

We have now completed our electoral review of Hull City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Hull City to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on the further draft recommendations for Kingston upon Hull closed on 8 August 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Political Groups:

Hull Conservative and Unionist Group

Hull Labour Group

Hull Liberal Democrat Group

Councillors:

All Councillor Submissions

MPs:

Diana Johnson MP

Emma Hardy MP

Local Organisations:

Bodmin Road Church

Bridges Hull

Carnegie Heritage Centre

Fountain Road Residents Association

Garden Village Society

Goodwin Development Trust (1)

Goodwin Development Trust (2)

Hessle Road Traders Association

Hull Bullnose Heritage Group

Kingswood Residents Association

Lonsdale Community Centre

Newington Neighbourhood Forum

Sutton Park Residents Association

Vulcan Learning Centre

West Hull Community Radio

Local Residents:

A-B

C-D

E-G

H-K

L-N

O-R

S

T-Z

Anonymous:

Anonymous (1)


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England published new proposals for council ward boundaries across the city of Kingston upon Hull.

The publication of these proposals followed a public consultation earlier in the year when over 250 local responses were received on the Commission’s original recommendations. In light of local feedback, the Commission made changes to its plans and asked local people to have their say on the revised proposals.

Between 13 June 2017 and 8 August 2017 we invited comments on our consultation on further draft recommendations.

You can read more about the further draft recommendations, and view relevant mapping, in the documents below:

To interact with the further draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on our draft recommendations closed on the 6 March 2017.

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Political Groups:

Hull Conservative and Unionist Group

East and North Hull Conservative Group Association

Hull Liberal Democrats

Hull North Labour Party

Hull Labour Group

West Hull and Hessle Conservative Group Association

Hull Conservative and Labour Group Joint Statement

Councillors:

All submissions from councillors are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors

MP:

Andrew Percy MP

Rt Hon Alan Johnson MP and Diana Johnson MP

Local Organisations:

Constable Community Allotment

Goodwin Development Trust

Hessle Road Network

Hull Bullnose Heritage Group

Hull University Union

Kingswood Residents Association (1)

Kingswood Residents Association (2)

Mitchell Community Centre

Sutton Park Residents Association

Vulcan Learning Centre

Local Residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

A

B

C

D-E

F-G

H

I-L

M

N-Q

R

S

T-V

W-Z

Anonymous:

Anonymous 1

Petition:

Bricknell Residents Petition

DARTS Community Petition


On 10 January we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Hull City Council. Between 10 January 2017 and 6 March 2017 we are invited comments on our draft recommendations. The recommendations can be found using the links below:

Draft recommendations for Hull City Council

Summary of the Hull City Council report

News release on draft recommendations for Hull City Council

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Hull City Council

An overview map of Hull City Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode. 

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This consultation closed on the 31 October 2016.

 Below are all of the submissions we received.

Political Groups:

Hull City Council Conservative and Unionist Party

Hull Conservative Association

Hull City Council Labour Group

Hull Liberal Democrats

Local Residents:

Mr Harris, D

Mr Sharp, J


On 23 August 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Hull City Council. Between 23 August and 31 October 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Hull City Council should have 57 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Kingston upon Hull to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 57 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Hull City Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Hull City Council and may contain boundary errors

Kingston upon Hull polling district map (jpeg)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Hull City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Hull City Council). We received one submission on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 16 May 2000.

Final report, published on 15 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Kingston-upon-Hull;

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Kingston-upon-Hull;

Large map (13.1 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Kingston-upon-Hull . This may take some time to download;

Draft report, published on 12 December 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Kingston-upon-Hull;

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Kingston-upon-Hull;

Large map (13.1 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Kingston-upon-Hull. This may take some time to download;

Review Dates


Dates from:
Dates to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
23 August 2016
31 October 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
10 January 2017
6 March 2017
Consultation on further draft recommendations 13 June 2017
8 August 2017
Final recommendations published
3 October 2017