" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Somerset

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of South Somerset District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. To achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across South Somerset.

On 9 January 2018, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of South Somerset District Council. Between 9 January 2018 and 19 March 2018 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for South Somerset District Council

·         Draft recommendations map for South Somerset District Council - please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

·         Summary of the South Somerset report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of South Somerset District Council

Parish and Town Councils with electoral changes:

 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping, visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the South Somerset electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (South Somerset)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements for South Somerset District Council closed on 30 October 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

South Somerset District Council (1)

South Somerset District Council (2)

Political Groups

South Somerset District Council Conservative Group

South Somerset Liberal Democrat Group

Councillors

Cllr  J Clark

Cllr C Raikes

Cllr C Goodall

Cllr P Maxwell

Cllr W Read

Cllr G Seaton

Cllr P Seib 

Parish and Town Councils

Barwick and Stoford Parish Council 

Brympton Parish Council

Closworth and Pendomer Parish Council

Crewkern Town Council

Dowlish Wake Town Council 

East Coker Parish Council 

Five Head Parish Council 

High Ham Parish Council

Huish Episcopi Parish Council

Ilminster Town Council

Keinton Mandeville Parish Council

Long Load Parish Council 

Lopen Parish Council

Mudford Parish Council 

Odcombe Parish Council

Pitney Parish Council

Seavington Parish Council

Shepton Beauchamp Parish Council 

The Charltons Parish Council

West Coker Parish Council

Winsham Parish Council

Residents  

A-M

O-Z


On 22 August 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for South Somerset District Council. Between 22 August 2017 and 30 October 2017, we invited comment on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that South Somerset District Council should have 60 councillors in the future.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of South Somerset District Council.

You may have found the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by South Somerset District Council and may contain boundary errors.

South Somerset polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area and postcode. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with South Somerset District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on South Somerset District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

South Somerset District Council - Number of Councillors submission

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 4 November 1997.

Draft report (PDF) published in June 1997.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
22 August 2017
30 October 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
9 January 2018
19 March 2018
Final recommendations published
8 May 2018

Useful Documents

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more