" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Bath & North East Somerset

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Bath & North East Somerset Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Bath & North East Somerset.

On 25 July 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Bath & North East Somerset Council. Between 25 July 2017 and 2 October 2017, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Bath & North East Somerset Council should have 59 councillors in the future; 6 less than the current arrangement.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Bath & North East Somerset to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 59 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Bath & North East Somerset Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Bath & North East Somerset Council and may contain boundary errors.

Bath & North East Somerset (City and East) polling district map

Bath & North East Somerset (West) polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say.

You can make a submission to the Bath & North East Somerset electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Bath & North East Somerset)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Bath & North East Somerset Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Bath & North East Somerset Council). We received two submissions on council size:

Bath & North East Somerset Council Size Submission

Bath & North East Somerset Liberal Democrats Council Size Submission

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 31 March 1998.

Draft report (PDF), published on 2 December 1997.  

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
25 July 2017
2 October 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
5 December 2017
19 February 2018
Final recommendations published
8 May 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more