" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Torridge

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Torridge District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Torridge.

Recommendations become law

The Torridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2017, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Torridge, was made on 8 November 2017.

New ward arrangements for Torridge District Council have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2019.

The Order for Torridge District Council can be viewed through the following link.

On 13 July 2017, the Torridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament. Now that that draft Order has successfully passed through Parliament, it will give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements for Torridge District Council, and published on 24 January 2017.

The draft Order can be viewed here.

The draft Order refers to a map which can be viewed here.

On 24th January 2017 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Torridge District Council. The report is available in the link below.

 

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Torridge District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on our draft recommendations closed on 31 October 2016.

Please find listed below the submissions we received for this stage of the submission:

Local Authority:

Torridge District Council

Local Organisations:

Kenwith Castle Gardens Residents Association

Parish and Town Councils:

Alwington Parish Council

Bideford Town Council

Bradford Cookbury Parish Council

High Bickington Parish Council 1

High Bickington Parish Council 2

Holsworthy Hamlets Parish Council

Littleham Landcross Parish Council

Northam Town Council

Parkham Parish Council 1

Parkham Parish Council 2

Peters Marland Parish Council

West & East Putford Parish Council

Woolsery Parish Council

Yarnscombe Parish Council

Local Residents:

Hames P

Kearney S

Rayner A


On 6 September 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Torridge District Council. Between 6 September 2016 and 31 October 2016, we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found at the links below.


To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are all the submissions that we recieved

Local resident:

Bence R (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

Buckland Brewer PC (PDF)

Roborough PC (PDF)

Local Authority:

Torridge DC (PDF)

Devon CC (PDF)


On 26th January 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Torridge District Council. Between 26 April and 4 July 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Torridge District Council should have 36 councillors in the future, the same amount as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Torridge to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 36 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Torridge District Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arragements.

Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Torridge District Council and may contain boundary errors

Torridge polling district map (jpeg)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Torridge District Council on the most apporopriate council size (the number of councillors on Torridge District Council). We recieved one submission on council size.

  • Torridge District Council (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published in January 1999;

Draft report (PDF), published in August 1998.

Review Dates


Dates from:
Dates to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
26 April 2016
4 July 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
6 September 2016
31 October 2016
Final recommendations
24 January 2017