Draft and final recommendation reports for Devon County Council, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Devon County Council

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Devon between October 2014 - March 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Devon councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Devon, was made on 7 June 2016 and was published on 8 June 2016. New division arrangements for Devon have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2017.

The order for Devon can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/657/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 22 March 2016 the Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Devon and published on 26 January 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Devon in 2017.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the county (PDF)

On 26 January 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Devon County Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Devon County Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Devon County Council (PDF)

•    Overview map of the Devon County Council final recommendations (PDF)

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Devon County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

 

Consultation closed on 26 October 2015

The Commission opened a new phase of public consultation in its electoral review of Devon County Council. The consultation focused on new proposals for county division boundaries in North Devon. Between 29 September and 26 October 2015 we invited comments on our further draft recommendations.

The Commission has listened to views put to it during its consultation last year and proposed to make substantial changes to its previous recommendations for North Devon. Due to the significance of the proposed changes, the Commission re-opened its consultation in this part of the county only.

The Commission is satisfied that it has received sufficient evidence to finalise its proposals for new electoral divisions for the rest of Devon and plans to publish its final recommendations for the whole county on in January 2016.

You can read more about the further draft recommendations, and view relevant mapping, in the documents below:

Letter to Chief Executive of Devon County Council (PDF) explaining the latest phase of consultation

Map A (PDF): The Commission’s further draft recommendations for North Devon

You can also read our news release for further information.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents:

Kingswood P (PDF)

Local Authority

Devon County Council (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 20 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and Town councils (PDF)

Consultation closed on 6 July 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 91 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in two documents. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents A-L (PDF)

Local residents M-Z (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 79 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in two documents. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils A-H (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils I-Z (PDF)

County Councillors

Cllr Channon (PDF)

Cllr Dewhirst (PDF)

Cllr Hannaford (PDF)

Cllr Hosking (PDF)

Cllr Moulding (PDF)

Cllr Owen (PDF)

Cllr Squires (PDF)

Cllr Wragg (PDF)

District Councillors

Cllr Bull (PDF)

Cllr Coppell (PDF)

Cllr Hodgson (PDF)

Local authority

Devon County Council (PDF)

District and Borough Councils

East Devon District Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Axminister DALC (PDF)

Bishopsteignton Residents Association (PDF)

Blackdown Hills AONB Partnership (PDF)

Broadhempston Residents Association (PDF)

Exeter St James Community Trust (PDF)

Exeter St James Forum (PDF)

Otter Valley Association (PDF)

St Leonards Neighbourhood Association (PDF)

Parish Councillors

PCllr Gardner (PDF)

PCllr Gaskin (PDF)

PCllr Gibbins (PDF)

PCllr Long (PDF)

Political Groups 

East Devon Conservative Association (PDF)

East Devon Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Exeter Labour Party (PDF)

Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Council Officer

Exeter City Council Officer (PDF)

On 12 May 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Devon County Council. Between 12 May 2015 and 6 July 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Devon County Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Devon County Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Devon County Council (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download. 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. Nb These figures have been provided by Devon County Council and updated on 12 January 2015.

The previous electoral figures can be found here (XLS). This is for information only - do not use these figures when formulating division patterns.

Consultation closed on 19 January 2015.

Below are the submissions we received:

Councillors

Cllr Hoskings (PDF)

Local Authority

Devon County Council (PDF)

District/Borough/City Councils

Exeter City Council (PDF)

Mid Devon District Council (PDF)

Local residents

Emms J (PDF)

Gardner C (PDF)

Hallett R (PDF)

Kingswood P (PDF)

Lopez E (PDF)

Morris B (PDF)

Pearce M (PDF)

Rook P (PDF)

Schlich S (PDF)

Ward T (PDF)

Parish Councillor

PCllr Gardner (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Abbotskerwell Parish Council (PDF)

Bradnich Town Council (PDF)

Chagford Parish Council (PDF)

Dawlish Town Council (PDF)

Gittisham Parish Council (PDF)

Ivybridge Town Council (PDF)

Landkey Parish Council (PDF)

Milton Damerel Parish Council (PDF)

Okehampton Hamlets Parish Council (PDF)

Ottery St Mary Parish Council (PDF)

Rockbeare Parish Council (PDF)

Sidmouth Town Council (PDF)

South Brent Parish Council (PDF)

Stoke Gabriel Parish Council (PDF)

Ugborough Parish Council (PDF)

Wembury Parish Council (PDF)

Yealmpton Parish Council (PDF)

Zeal Monachorum Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Exeter Labour Party (PDF)

Local Organisations

Woodbury Salterton Residents Association (PDF)

On 28 October 2014, we opened the first period of consultation for a new pattern of electoral divisions for Devon County Council. Between 28 October and 19 January, we invited comments on division boundaries across the whole county.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 60 county councillors in the future, two fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Devon to help it to produce a new pattern of electoral divisions to accommodate 60 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Devon County Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. Nb These figures have been provided by Devon County Council but the Commission is currently querying a number of the forecast figures, so they could be subject to change.

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area.

You can also view the evidence we received from the council about their future council size here (PDF)

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Our advice to the Secretary of State on unitary local government in Devon

The Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government asked for our advice about the structure of local government in Devon. On 7 December 2009 we gave the Secretary of State our advice and published a report containing Advice to the Secretary of State on unitary local government in Devon (PDF)

We also published a summary of the report (PDF)

Next steps


More information on the review process in general, including the Secretary of State's intended approach to taking his statutory decisions, can be found on the Department for Communities and Local Government's website. Here is a link to a letter outlining the Secretary of State's intended approach to decisions in relation to proposals for unitary local government.

Independent Financial Consultant (IFC) reports

On 15 June 2009, our independent financial consultants (IFCs) provided their final report on the affordability of our further draft proposals in Devon (PDF). This report became available online on 7 December 2009.

Appeal

On 2 December 2009, the Court of Appeal handed down its judgment in relation on our appeal against the High Court judgment handed down on 10 July. The Court of Appeal judged in favour of the Boundary Committee and overturned the High Court decision to quash the further draft proposals in Suffolk.

We are pleased that the Court of Appeal has recognised that the process the Committee followed in formulating its draft proposals in Suffolk was lawful and consistent with the guidance that the Secretary of State issued.

Read our statement on the judgment here.

Stage Six 

On 19 March 2009, we published our further draft proposals for unitary local government in Devon.

Further draft proposals report (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

A synopsis of our assessment of the affordability of each further draft proposal can be found through the below links. Please note that the two synopses are based on different financial assumptions. Direct comparisons between them are therefore not appropriate.

Devon county unitary authority (PDF) (Uploaded on 27 March 2009)

Two unitary authorities: Exeter & Exmouth and Devon Rural (PDF) (Uploaded on 27 March 2009)

Summary of the independent financial consultants' report on the unitary county can be found here (PDF)

Summary of the independent financial consultants 'in aggregate' reports for the two-unitary pattern 'in aggregate' can be found here (PDF)

Submissions

Please find below the submissions received for our further draft proposals published 19 March 2009.

Submissions received from Devon local authorities

Devon County Council (PDF)
East Devon District Council (PDF)
Exeter City Council (PDF)
Mid Devon District Council (PDF)
North Devon District Council (PDF)
South Hams District Council (PDF)
Plymouth City Council (PDF)
Teignbridge District Council (PDF)
Torbay Council (PDF)
West Devon Borough Council (PDF)
Devon County Council's response to submission by Exeter City Council (PDF)
Exeter City Council's further response (PDF)

Submissions received after 3 June (last updated 7 December)

Submissions received after 14 May (last updated 6 July)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 8 (7 May - 14 May)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (Part 1) (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (Part 2) (PDF)
Emails - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - residents (Part 1) (PDF)
Emails - residents (Part 2 ) (PDF)
Emails - residents (Part 3) (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (Part 1) (PDF)
Letters - residents (Part 2) (PDF)
Letters - residents (Part 3) (PDF)
Letters - residents (Part 4) (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 7 (30 April - 6 May)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 6 (23 April - 29 April)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 5 (16 April - 22 April)

Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 4 (9 April - 15 April)

Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 3 (2 April - 8 April)

Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 2 (26 March - 1 April)

Local authorities (PDF)
Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - political groups and councillors (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups and councillors (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 1 (19 March - 25 March)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Stages Four and Five

Reports on affordability

We asked independent financial consultants to provide the Committee with an assessment of the affordability of the unitary patterns of local government in Devon, Norfolk and Suffolk that were outlined in our reports published on 7 July 2008.

Following our request, on 21 November 2008, our independent financial consultants (IFCs) provided us with three reports. These considered the likelihood of the individual authorities identified being able to meet the affordability criterion. (These reports have been available on our website since 21 November 2008):

As a result of the new guidance issued in December 2008, we asked the same IFCs to assess these patterns 'in aggregate'. On 20 January we considered the IFCs new reports. These were published on our website on 19 March 2009:

The financial workbooks that were created in support of these documents are found on the Devon structural review financial information page.

Stage Three

Submissions

A 12 week period began on 7 July 2008 during which we invited views on our draft proposal. Stage Three ended on 26 September 2008.

Representations received on November 2008 independent financial consultants' reports (PDF) 

Submissions received from local authorities

Devon County Council (PDF)
East Devon District Council (PDF)
Exeter City Council (PDF)
Mid Devon District Council (PDF)
North Devon District Council (PDF)
Plymouth City Council (PDF)
South Hams District Council (PDF)
Teignbridge District Council (PDF)
Torridge District Council (PDF)
Torbay Council (PDF)
West Devon Borough Council (PDF)

Submissions received 7 to 21 July 2008

Local organisations (PDF)
Residents (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, County and District Councillors (PDF)
Online submissions - Residents (PDF)
Online submissions - Public sector (PDF)
Online submissions - Parish and Town Councils (PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 22 July to 4 August 2008

Local organisations (PDF)
Residents (Part 1) (PDF)
Residents (Part 2) (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, County and District Councillors (PDF)
Town and Parish Councils (PDF)
Online submissions (PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 5 August to 18 August 2008

Local organisations (PDF)
Residents (Part 1) (PDF)
Residents (Part 2) (PDF)
Residents (Part 3) (PDF)
Residents (Part 4) (PDF)
Residents (Part 5) (PDF)
Residents (Part 6) (PDF)
Residents (Part 7) (PDF)
Residents (Part 8) (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, County and District Councillors (PDF)
Town and Parish Councils (PDF)
Online submissions - Residents (PDF)
Online submissions - Parish and Town Councils (PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 19 August to 1 September 2008

Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (PDF)
Residents (Part 1) (PDF)
Residents (Part 2) (PDF)
Residents (Part 3) (PDF)
Residents (Part 4) (PDF)
Residents (Part 5) (PDF)
Residents (Part 6) (PDF)
Residents (Part 7) (PDF)
Residents (Part 8) (PDF)
Residents (Part 9) (PDF)
Residents (Part 10) (PDF)
Residents (Part 11) (PDF)
Residents (Part 12) (PDF)
Residents (Part 13) (PDF)
Residents (Part 14) (PDF)
Resdients (Part 15) (PDF)
Residents (Part 16) (PDF)
Online submissions (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Local authorities(PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 2 September to 15 September 2008

Online submissions (Residents part 1) (PDF)
Online submissions (Residents part 2) (PDF)
Online submissions (Parish and Town Councils) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (PDF)
Residents (Part 1) (PDF)
Residents (Part 2) (PDF)
Residents (Part 3) (PDF)
Residents (Part 4) (PDF)
Residents (Part 5) (PDF)
Residents (Part 6) (PDF)
Residents (Part 7) (PDF)
Residents (Part 8) (PDF)
Residents (Part 9) (PDF)
Residents (Part 10) (PDF)
Residents (Part 11) (PDF)
Residents (Part 12) (PDF)
Residents (Part 13) (PDF)
Residents (Part 14) (PDF)
Residents (Part 15) (PDF)
Residents (Part 16) (PDF)
Residents (Part 17) (PDF)
Residents (Part 18) (PDF)
Residents (Part 19) (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Local authorities (PDF)
Emails (Parishes) (PDF)
Emails (Residents - Part One) (PDF)
Emails (Residents - Part Two) (PDF)
Emails (Residents - Part Three) (PDF)
Emails (Local organisations) (PDF)
Emails (County Councillors) (PDF)

Submissions received 16 September to 26 September 2008

Online submissions (Residents) (PDF)
Online submissions (Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors) (PDF)
Online submissions (Local organisations) (PDF)
Online submissions (Political groups, MPs, and County and District Councillors) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part 1) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part 2) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part 3) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part 4) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part 5) (PDF)
Residents (Part 1) (PDF)
Residents (Part 2) (PDF)
Residents (Part 3) (PDF)
Residents (Part 4) (PDF)
Residents (Part 5) (PDF)
Residents (Part 6) (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, and County and District Councillors (Part 1) (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, and County and District Councillors (Part 2) (PDF)
Local authorities (PDF)
Emails (Parishes) (PDF)
Emails (Residents) (PDF)
Emails (Local organisations) (PDF)
Emails (Political groups, MPs and County and District Councillors) (PDF)

Submissions received after 26 September 2008

Online submissions (Residents) (PDF)
Online submissions (Parish and Town Councils) (PDF)
Online submissions (Local organisations) (PDF)
Online submissions received after November 2008 (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils (PDF)
Residents (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Political groups, MPS, and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Exeter Labour Party petition (PDF)

Draft proposal

On 7 July 2008 we published our draft proposal for unitary local government arrangements in Devon (PDF)

Maps of the area - A0 size:
Map 1 - Two unitary pattern: Devon UA (Unitary Authority) and Exeter and Exmouth UA (July 2008)  (PDF)
Map 2 - Two unitary pattern: Parish map of Devon UA and Exeter and Exmouth UA (July 2008) (PDF)
Map 3 - Two unitary pattern: Exeter and Exmouth UA (July 2008) (PDF)

A4 size:
Map 1- Existing arrangements in Devon (PDF)
Map B1- Draft proposal for Devon (PDF)
Map B2 - A two unitary pattern for Devon (PDF)

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download

A summary of the report (PDF) was also made available.

You can express your views on our draft proposal using our online submission form
Please note: If you do not want all or any part of your response or name made public, please contact us immediately to explain why confidentiality is necessary. All information in responses may be subject to publication or disclosure as required by law.

Once we have provided our advice there will then be a further period of four weeks during which representations may be made directly to the Secretary of State.

Stage Two

During Stage Two we considered the concepts and submissions we received during Stage One.

Stage One - submissions 

On 3 March 2008, we started a structural review of Devon. During the first stage of the review (to 11 April 2008) we worked with local authorities and other stakeholders to identify potential concepts for new unitary authorities. Below are the submissions we received at stage one.

You can download our poster from Stage One (PDF) and leaflet from Stage One (PDF) for more information.

Local authorities

Devon County Council (PDF)
East Devon District Council (PDF)
Exeter City Council (PDF)
Exeter City Council - Centre for Urban and Regional Development Studies (Newcastle University) - Analyses contributing to the Exeter City Council inputs to the Boundary Committee's evidence base (PDF)
Mid Devon District Council (PDF)
North Devon District Council (PDF)
Plymouth City Council Submission (PDF)
Plymouth City Council Letter (PDF)
South Hams District Council and West Devon Borough Council joint submission (PDF)
Teignbridge District Council Submission (PDF)
Teignbridge District Council Letter (PDF)
Torbay Council (PDF)
Torridge District Council (PDF)

Political groups, MPs and MEPs

Adrian Sanders MP (PDF)
Ben Bradshaw MP (PDF)
Devon County Council Labour Group (PDF)
Glyn Ford MEP (PDF)
Plymouth City Council Labour Group (PDF)
Plymouth Labour Party (PDF)
South West Labour (PDF)
Totnes Conservative Constituency Association (Kingswear Branch) (PDF)

Parish and Town councils and Councillors

Ashprington parish council (PDF)
Atherington parish council (PDF)
Bigbury parish council (PDF)
Bishops Nympon parish council (PDF)
Brampford Speke parish council (May) (PDF)
Brampford Speke parish council (June) (PDF)
Bratton Fleming parish council (PDF)
Brayford parish council (PDF)
Brendon and Countisbury parish council (PDF)
Brentnor parish council - 2 May (PDF)
Brentnor parish council - 21 May (PDF)
Chagford parish council (PDF)
Clayhidon parish council (PDF)
Clyst St George parish council (PDF)
Combe Martin parish council (PDF)
Cornwood parish council (PDF)
Cornworthy parish council (PDF)
Crediton town council (PDF)
Dittisham parish council (PDF)
Drewsteignton parish council (PDF)
East Allington parish council (PDF)
East Anstey parish council (PDF)
Georgeham parish council (PDF)
George Nympton & Queens Nympton parish council (PDF)
Goodleigh parish council (PDF)
Harberton parish council (PDF)
Holbeton parish council (PDF)
Holne parish council (PDF)
Ilfracombe town council (PDF)
Kingston parish council (PDF)
Lapford parish council (PDF)
Littlehempson parish council (PDF)
Lynton and Lynmouth town council (PDF)
Mariansleigh parish council (PDF)
Marlborough parish council (PDF)
Martinhoe parish meeting (PDF)
Meeth parish council (PDF)
Mortehoe parish council (PDF)
Musbury parish council (PDF)
Newton Abbott town council (PDF)
Newton and Noss parish council (PDF)
Peter Tavy parish council (PDF)
Rackenford and Creacombe parish council (PDF)
Romansleigh parish council (PDF)
South Huish parish council (PDF)
South Pool parish council (PDF)
South Molton town council (PDF)
Staverton parish council (PDF)
Sticklepath parish council (PDF)
Stoke Fleming parish council (PDF)
Stokenham parish council (PDF)
Tavistock town council (PDF)
Tawstock parish council (PDF)
Totnes town council (PDF)
Wembury parish council (PDF)
West Antsey parish meeting (PDF)
West Down parish council (PDF)
Witheridge parish council (PDF)

Aspinall (PDF)
Dann (PDF)
Hamment-Arnold (PDF)
Kerswell (PDF)
Lowry (PDF)
Mavin (PDF)
Osborne (PDF)
Pickles (PDF)
Reach (PDF)
Rennie (PDF)
Smith (PDF)
Stevens (PDF)
Tarr (PDF)
Wheeler (PDF)
Wildy (PDF)

Local organisations

Campaign to Protect Rural England - Devon (PDF)
Clinton Devon Estates (PDF)
Devon Association of Governors (PDF)
Devon and Cornwall Business Council (PDF)
Devon and Cornwall Police Authority (PDF)
Exeter Business Forum (PDF)
Exeter Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PDF)
Exeter Council for Voluntary Service (PDF)
Exeter Senior Voice (PDF)
University of Exeter (PDF)
Kingsbridge Age Concern (PDF)
Kingsbridge and Salcombe Chamber of Commerce (PDF)
Land Securities (PDF)
Marsh Barton Forum (PDF)
North Devon Plus (PDF)
North Devon Theatres (PDF)
Northern Devon NHS (PDF)
Plymouth Chamber of Commerce (PDF)
Plymouth Economic Development Group (PDF)
Plymouth branch - Federation of Small Businesses (PDF)
Rural Services Network (PDF)
South Hams Sustainability Group (PDF)
Sutton Harbour Holdings (PDF)
Tamar Education Business Partnership (PDF)
Unite (South West) (PDF)
Villages in Action (PDF)
Wembury Amenity Society (PDF)
Woodlands Leisure Park (PDF)
Woolacombe and Mortehoe Residents Association (PDF)

Residents

Adams (PDF)
Anthony (PDF)
Baigrie (PDF)
Barker (PDF)
Barnes (PDF)
Barrett (PDF)
Bellingham (PDF)
Bennett (Chair of the Eastern Link Committee) (PDF)
Birchall (PDF)
Bird (PDF)
Black (PDF)
Blackler (PDF)
Bloomfield (PDF)
Bonstow (PDF)
Bradbury (PDF)
Brayshay (PDF)
Brown (PDF)
Brownsword (PDF)
Budden (PDF)
Cairns-Sharp (PDF)
Castle (PDF)
Chisholm (PDF)
Clarance (PDF)
Cockbain (PDF)
Cook (Commander) (PDF)
Cooke, M and A (PDF)
Curtis (PDF)
Custerson (PDF)
Darton, R and K (PDF)
Davey (PDF)
Dixon (PDF)
Donaldson (PDF)
Duncan (PDF)
Eberlie (PDF)
Ellis (PDF)
Fieldsend, C (PDF)
Fieldsend, D (PDF)
Fleet (PDF)
Fletcher (PDF)
Franklin (PDF)
Gardner (PDF)
Garland (PDF)
Gibbons (PDF)
Gill (PDF)
Gilley (PDF)
Godfrey (PDF)
Goldsmith (PDF)
Goodall (PDF)
Gordon (PDF)
Gordon, J E (PDF)
Goult (PDF)
Graham (PDF)
Green (PDF)
Grose (PDF)
Grumley-Grennan (PDF)
Hamer (PDF)
Harding (PDF)
Harman (PDF)
Harrison, K (PDF)
Harrison, M (PDF)
Hartinage (PDF)
Hasler (PDF)
Hiles (PDF)
Hopkins, J and D (PDF)
Hunter (PDF)
Hurle, RJ and JR (PDF)
Hyde (PDF)
Inman (PDF)
Kadow (PDF)
Keene (PDF)
Kilpatrick (PDF)
Kingswood (PDF)
Knapman (PDF)
Kummer (PDF)
Lacey (PDF)
Little (PDF)
Long (PDF)
Lord (PDF)
Lovell (PDF)
Ludford (PDF)
Manning (PDF)
Marvin (PDF)
Maybey (PDF)
Micklewright (PDF)
Miller A (PDF)
Miller, J (PDF)
Murray (PDF)
O'Connell (PDF)
Ogborne (PDF)
Oliver (PDF)
Osborn (PDF)
Osborne, C (PDF)
Osborne, P (PDF)
Passman (PDF)
Pennington (PDF)
Pirwany (PDF)
Prout (PDF)
Puddicombe (PDF)
Pyne (PDF)
Rathbone (PDF)
Ridalls (PDF)
Ridsdill (PDF)
Roberts (PDF)
Romnang, Mr (PDF)
Romnang, Mrs (PDF)
Samuels (PDF)
Savage (PDF)
Sharman (PDF)
Sharrack, S and M (PDF)
Shaw, M and R (PDF)
Shaw, R (PDF)
Sheardown (PDF)
Sheldon (PDF)
Snook (PDF)
Stanton (PDF)
Stear (PDF)
Stevenson (PDF)
Struben (PDF)
Summers (PDF)
Sykes (PDF)
Thorp (PDF)
Tinsley (PDF)
Tongue (PDF)
Toogood (PDF)
Tozer (PDF)
Trower (PDF)
Turner (PDF)
Vines (PDF)
Walker, J (PDF)
Walker, M and J (PDF)
Warman (PDF)
Webber (PDF)
Whitting (PDF)
Whittle (PDF)
Williams (PDF)
Willis (PDF)
Wilson (PDF)
Wirgman and Neal (PDF)
Wolfe (PDF)
Wood C (PDF)
Wood, M (PDF)
York (PDF)

After receiving concepts from local authorities and local political organisations, we formulated questions to ask those who had submitted the concepts in order to clarify some of the issues the concepts raised. The letters sent and the questions regarding each concept can be found below:

Devon County Council (PDF)
Devon County Council Labour Group (PDF)
East Devon District Council (PDF)
Exeter City Council (PDF)
Mid Devon District Council (PDF)
North Devon District Council (PDF)
Plymouth City Council (PDF)
Plymouth City Council Labour Group of Councillors (PDF)
South Hams District Council (PDF)
Teignbridge District Council (PDF)
Torbay District Council (PDF)
Torridge District Council (PDF)
West Devon Borough Council (PDF)

The responses to the questions set to proponents of concepts in stage one can be found below:

Devon County Council part 1 (PDF)
Devon County Council part 2 (PDF)
Devon County Council Labour Group (PDF)
East Devon District Council (PDF)
Exeter City Council response (PDF)
Exeter City Council map (PDF)
Mid Devon District Council response (PDF)
Mid Devon District Council letter (PDF)
North Devon District Council response (PDF)
North Devon District Council letter (PDF)
Plymouth City Council Labour group (PDF)
South Hams District Council and West Devon Borough Council response (PDF)
South Hams District Council and West Devon Borough Council letter (PDF)
Torridge District Council (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Implementation

For more information on how the Boundary Committee's final recommendations are made into Orders see the Implementation Team section of The Electoral Commission website.

The Order implementing the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on the HMSO website. The Order map can be viewed by clicking on the link below:

Order mapping.

Final report (PDF), published on 22 August 2000

Map A1 Illustrating the proposed boundary between the divisions of Ottery St Mary Rural and Sidmouth Sidford in East Devon; (PDF)

Large map (0.8 Mb) Illustrating, in outline form, the Commission's proposed divisions for Devon, including constituent district wards and parishes; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 22 February 2000


A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 15 December 1994

Draft report (PDF) published on 11 July 1994