Draft and final recommendation reports for the Isles of Scilly, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download." />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Isles of Scilly

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of the Isles of Scilly between September 2016 - March 2017. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Isles of Scilly councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Isles of Scilly (Electoral Changes) Order 2017, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in the Isles of Scilly, was made on 13 March 2017.

New ward arrangements for the Isles of Scilly have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2017.

The order for the Isles of Scilly can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2017/326

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 17 January 2017 the Isles of Scilly (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements of Isles of Scilly and published on 21 December 2017.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Isles of Scilly in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2017/9780111153161

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

• Sheet 1 - Overview of the isles (PDF)

On 21 December 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in the Council of the Isles of Scilly. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government arrangements for the Council of the Isles of Scilly

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of the Council of the Isles of Scilly (PDF)

•    Overview map of the Council of the Isles of Scilly final recommendations (PDF)

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of the Council of the Isles of Scilly. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on our draft recommendations closed on the 25 November 2016.

Please find listed below the submissions we received for this stage of the submission:

Councillors:

Cllr Daly 1

Cllr Daly 2

Cllr Grottick

Cllr McCarthy

Cllr Moulson

Local Residents:

The below document contains all local resident submissions we received:

Local Residents

Petitions:

Residents of St Martins 


On 27 September 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of the Council of the Isles of Scilly. Between 27 September 2016 and 25 November 2016 we are invited comments on our draft recommendations. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with the Council of the Isles of Scilly on the most apporopriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council of the Isles of Scilly).

We received two submissions on council size: