LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Surrey Heath

image map View our draft recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Surrey Heath Borough Council. 

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. 

 

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across Surrey Heath. 

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 20 March 2017.


On 24 January 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Surrey Heath Borough Council. Between 24 January 2017 and 20 March 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. The recommendations can be found using the links below. 

·         Draft recommendations for Surrey Heath Borough Council (PDF)

·         Summary of Surrey Heath draft recommendations

·         News release on draft recommendations for Surrey Heath Borough Council

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Surrey Heath Borough Council (PDF)

·         An overview map of Surrey Heath Borough Council draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This consultation closed on 10 October 2016.

Below are the submissions that we received:

Local Authorities:

Surrey Heath Borough Council

Councillors:

Cllr Bates

Cllr Gibson

Cllr Hawkins

Cllr Ivison

Cllrs Ilnicki, Cullen and Lyttle

Cllrs Tedder and Wheeler

Cllr Wheeler

Local Organisations:

Heatherside Residents Forum

Surrey Heath PCC

Parish Councils:

Bisley Parish Council

Chobham Parish Council

West End Parish Council

Local Residents:

Local Residents



On 26 July 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Surrey Heath Borough Council. Between 26 July and 10 October 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Surrey Heath Borough Council should have 34 councillors in the future, which is six fewer than at present.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Surrey Heath to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 34 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Surrey Heath Borough Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Surrey Heath Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF) 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or post code.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Surrey Heath Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Surrey Heath Borough Council). 

We recieved 2 submissions on council size: 


This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 2 September 1997.

Final report, published in September 1998.

Draft report, published in March 1998.

Review Dates


Date From:
Date To:
Consultation on warding arrangements
26 July 2016
10 October 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
24 January 2017
20 March 2017
Final recommendations published
9 May 2017