The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Ashford District Council.

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Ashford.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Ashford

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Ashford Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Ashford.

On 7 February 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Ashford Borough Council. Between 7 February 2017 and 3 April 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

 

Draft recommendations for Ashford Borough Council (PDF)

Summary of the Ashford Borough Council report

News release on draft recommendations for Ashford Borough Council

 

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Ashford Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Ashford electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

  
   The Review Officer (Ashford)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.


The consultation on the warding arrangements closed on 5 September 2016.

Please find listed below the submissions we received for this stage of the submission:

Local Authority:

Ashford Borough Council

Local Organisations:

Central Ashford Community Forum

Kennington Community Forum | Map

North Willesborough Community Forum

Sandyhurst Lane Residents Association | Map

South Ashford Community Forum

Parish and Town Councils:

Biddenden Parish Council

Boughton Aluph & Eastwell Parish Council

Egerton Parish Council

Westwell Parish Council

Local Residents:

Appleton J

Courtine P

Dunkerley F

Guy R

Hall B&J

Heuch J

Michael W

Middleton S

Penny S

Sander R

Tierney T 1

Tierney T 2

Wolverson I


On 28th June 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Ashford Borough Council. Between 28th June 2016 and 5th September 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority. The consultation is now closed.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Ashford Borough Council should have 47 councillors in the future, which is an increase from its previous 43.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Ashford to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 47 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Ashford Borough Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the Ashford Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or post code.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with the Ashford Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Ashford Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

An electoral review of Ashford Borough Council started 9 May 2000

Final report (PDF) was published 8 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Ashford; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Ashford; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Ashford: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 The proposed borough and parish warding of Tenterden; (PDF).

Map A3 Proposed borough and parish warding of Charing; (PDF)

Large map (5.0 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Ashford town. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report  (PDF) was published 17 October 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Ashford; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Ashford; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Ashford: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 The proposed borough and parish warding of Tenterden; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed borough and parish warding of Charing; (PDF)

Large map (5.0 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Ashford town. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date From:
Date To:
Consultation on warding arrangements
28 June 2016
5 September 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
7 February 2017
3 April 2017
Final recommendations
6 June 2017

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more