LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Test Valley

image map View existing ward boundaries

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Test Valley Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Test Valley.

 

 

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on 3 April 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

Test Valley Borough Council

Political Groups:

North West Hampshire Liberal Democrats

Councillors:

Cllr Simmonds

Parish and Town Councils:

Ampfield Parish Council

Chilworth Parish Council

King’s Somborne Parish Council

Mottisfont Parish Council

Penton Grafton Parish Council

Smannell Parish Council

Thruxton Parish Council

Wherwell Parish Council

Local Residents:

Ms Coggon, C

Mr Fitchet, A

Mr Griffiths, B

Mr Keightley, P

Mr Pope, N

Anonymous:

Anonymous

 
On 24 January 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Test Valley Borough Council. Between 24 January 2017 and 3 April 2017, we are invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Test Valley Borough Council should have 43 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Test Valley to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 43 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Test Valley Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Test Valley Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Test Valley polling district map

Polling district map of Andover

Polling district map of Romsey

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Test Valley Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Test Valley Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Test Valley Borough Council Size Submission Part 1

Test Valley Borough Council Size Submission Part 2

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 20 July 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 25 July 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Test Valley; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Test Valley; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Test Valley: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Valley Park ward; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Romsey town; (PDF)

Large map (3.4 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Andover. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 22 February 2000

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
24th January 2017
3rd April 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations 13th June 2017 14th August 2017
Final recommendations 3rd October 2017