Draft and final recommendation reports for Hampshire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Hampshire County Council

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Hampshire between May 2015 - December 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Hampshire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Hampshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Hampshire, was made on 19 December 2016.

New ward arrangements for Hampshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2017.

The order for Hampshire can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2016/1223

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 25 October 2016 the Hampshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Hampshire and published on 6 September 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Hampshire in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111150641/

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the county (PDF)

On 6 September 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Hampshire County Council. The report is available in the link below.

Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Hampshire County Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release

Letter to the Chief Executive of Hampshire County Council (PDF)

Overview map of the Hampshire County Council final recommendations (PDF)

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

PDF maps of each individual division can be found below. Please note each document is very large so may take some time to load.

A-C

C-H

H-R

R-Z

 

To receive the data files for this map in shapefile format please email your request to reviews@lgbce.org.uk.

 

We have now completed our electoral review of Hampshire County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

 

Opinion Survey

 

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 6th June 2016

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Local Residents:

All of the local residents submissions we received are contained in the documents below:

Local residents A-K (PDF)

Local residents L-Z (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr A Penson (PDF)

Cllr A Rice (PDF)

Cllr E Heron (PDF)

Cllr F Ponsonby (PDF)

Cllr K House (PDF)

Cllr M Harris (PDF)

Cllr N Tungate (PDF)

MP:

Alan Mak MP (PDF)

Local Authority:

Hampshire County Council (PDF)

New Forest District Council (PDF)

Political Groups:

Havant Conservative Association (PDF)

New Forest East & West Conservative Association (PDF)

New Forest West Labour (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

Beaulieu PC (PDF)

Boldre PC (PDF)

Bransgore PC (PDF)

Burley PC (PDF)

Ellingham Harbridge & Ibsley PC (PDF)

Exbury & Lepe PC (PDF)

Godshill PC (PDF)

Hyde PC (PDF)

Lymington & Pennington PC (PDF)

Netley Marsh PC (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Leigh Park Traders Association (PDF)

Anonymous:

Anonymous 1 (PDF)

Anonymous 2 (PDF)


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has opened a new phase of public consultation in its review of Hampshire County Council’s electoral division boundaries.

The consultation focused on new proposals for county division boundaries in Havant and New Forest.

Earlier this year, the Commission held a public consultation on proposals for new division boundaries across Hampshire. The Commission has listened to the views put to it during consultation and now proposes to make changes to the plans to reflect local evidence.

Due to the significance of the proposed changes in Havant and New Forest, the Commission is opening an extra phase of consultation in those areas to see what local people think of the new recommendations. 

Between 10 May and 6 June2016 we invited comments on our further limited consultation on draft recommendations.

The Commission has listened to views put to it during its consultation last year and now proposes to make substantial changes to its previous recommendations for Hampshire County City. Due to the significance of the proposed changes, the Commission is re-opening its consultation in this part of the county only.

The Commission is satisfied that it has received sufficient evidence to finalise its proposals for new electoral divisions for the rest of Hampshire and plans to publish its final recommendations for the whole county in August 2016.

You can read more about the further draft recommendations, and view relevant mapping, in the documents below:


You can also read our news release for further information.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 11 January 2016

Below are all of the submissions we recieved:

Local Residents:

All of the Local residents submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below:

Local Residents A-L (PDF)

Local Residents M-Z (PDF)

Councillors:

All of the Councillor's submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below:

Councillors (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

All of the Parish and Town Council submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below:

Parish and Town Council (PDF)

Local Authority:

Eastleigh Borough Council (PDF)

Hampshire County Council (PDF)

New Forest District Council (PDF)

Rushmoor Borough Council (PDF)

Test Valley Borough Council (PDF)

Winchester City Council (PDF)

Political Groups:

Fareham Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Hampshire County Council Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Havant Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Meon Valley Liberal Democrats (PDF)

New Forest Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Alamein Community Association (PDF)

Botley Parish Action Group (PDF)

Burlesdon Rights of Way & Amenities Preservation Group (PDF)

Holybourne Village Association (PDF)

New Forest Business Partnership (PDF)

Police and Crime Commissioner (PDF)

Warblington and Denvilles Residents Association (PDF)


On 17 November 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Hampshire County Council. Between 17 November 2017 and 11 January 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

*    Draft recommendations for Hampshire County Council (PDF)

*    Summary of the report (PDF)

*    News release on draft recommendations for Hampshire County Council

*    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Hampshire County Council (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Consultation closed on 3rd August 2015.

Below are the submissions we recieved:

Local Residents

We received 36 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in the document below. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 43 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in the document below. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

County Councillors

Cllr A Dowden (PDF)

Cllr C Wood (PDF)

Cllr E Heron (PDF)

Cllr J Porter (PDF)

District Councillors

Cllr F Carpenter (PDF)

Cllr P Crerar (PDF)

Parish Councillors

Cllr A Lee (PDF)

Cllr C Ecclestone (PDF)

Local Authority

Hampshire County Council (PDF)

District and Borough Councils

Eastleigh BC (PDF)

Fareham BC (PDF)

New Forest DC (PDF)

Rushmoor BC (PDF)

Test Valley DC (PDF)

Local Organisations

Botley Parish Action Group (PDF)

Police Crime Commissioner Hampshire (PDF)

Political Groups

Aldershot South Conservative Branch (PDF)

Fareham Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Hampshire Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Havant Liberal Democrats (PDF)

North West Hampshire Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Petersfield Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Tadley and Baughurst Liberal Democrats (PDF)


On 26 May 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of electoral divisions for Hampshire County Council. Between 26 May and 3 August 2015, we invited comments on the division boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 78 county councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Hampshire to help it to produce a new pattern of electoral divisions to accommodate 78 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Hampshire County Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. Please note that the information was provided to us by Hampshire County Council.

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

 

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Hampshire County Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Hampshire County Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began a review of Hampshire County Council on 6 August 2002.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising sheet 1, sheet 2 and sheet 3  . For more information on how The Boundary Committee's final recommendations are made into Orders see the Implementation Team section of The Electoral Commission website.

Final report (PDF), published on 27 July 2004;

Map sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Hampshire, including constituent borough wards and parishes.

Map sheet 2  includes 6 small maps illustrating the boundaries in Hampshire.

Map sheet 3 includes 2 maps illustrating the boundaries in Hampshire.

Draft recommendations, published on 23 January 2004.

Large map 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Hampshire, including constituent borough wards and parishes.

Large map 2 illustrates the proposed electoral divisions in Basingstoke & Deane, Havant, Hart and Rushmoor.

Large map 3 illustrates the proposed electoral divisions in East Hampshire, Eastleigh and Gosport.

 

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 27 September 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 26 October 1994

Draft report (PDF) published on 14 June 1994