LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

East Hampshire

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of East Hampshire District Council.


The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across East Hampshire.



On 13 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for East Hampshire District Council. Between 13 June 2017 and 14 August 2017, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that East Hampshire District Council should have 44 councillors in the future.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across East Hampshire to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 44 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of East Hampshire District Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by East Hampshire District Council and may contain boundary errors.

East Hampshire polling district map (JPEG)

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say.

You can make a submission to the East Hampshire electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (East Hampshire)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower



   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with East Hampshire District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on East Hampshire District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:


East Hampshire District Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 20 July 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 25 July 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in East Hampshire; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for East Hampshire; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for East Hampshire: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Liss Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Horndean Parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of Horndean Parish; (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed warding of Rowlands Castle Parish; (PDF)

Large map (3.9 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Alton, Petersfield and Whitehill. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 18 January 2000

Review Dates

Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
13 June 2017
14 August 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
3 October 2017
11 December 2017
Final recommendations published
6 February 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more