Draft and final recommendation reports for Rother, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Rother

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Rother between September 2015 - December 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Rother councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Rother (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Rother, was made on 15 December 2016.

New ward arrangements for Rother have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2019.

The order for Rother can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2016/1236

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 27 October 2016 the Rother (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Rother and published on 27 September 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Rother in 2019.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2016/9780111150771

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 27th September 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements for Rother District Council. The report is available in the link below.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Rother District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation closed on the 16 June 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we recieved:

Local Residents

All submissions from local residents are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local Residents (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Prochak

Parish and Town Councils

Battle Town Council

Battle Town Council

Icklesham Parish Council

Icklesham Parish Council

Salehurst and Robertsbridge Parish Council

Local Authority

Rother District Council

Political Groups

Bexhill and Battle Liberal Democrats

Liberal Democrat Group

On 15 March 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Rother District Council. Between 15 March 2016 and 16 June 2016 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Rother District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for East Sussex County Council and districts

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executives in East Sussex (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Rother electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (East Sussex)
   Local Government Boundary Commission for England
   14th Floor Millbank Tower
   Millbank
   London
   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are the submissions we received during the consultation on warding arrangements for Rother District Council

Local residents

Mackenzie Smith S (PDF)

Pyrah J (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Battle Town Council (PDF)

Bodiam Parish Council (PDF)

Ewhurst Parish Council (PDF)

Fairlight Parish Council (PDF)

Ticehurst Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Bexhill and Battle Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Bexhill Labour Party (PDF)

Local Organisations

Fairlight Preservation Trust (PDF)

Local Authority

Rother District Council (PDF)

The Commission is also undertaking an electoral review of East Sussex County Council. Below are the submissions we received for East Sussex.

Local residents

All submissions from local residents are combined in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Chalvington with Ripe Parish Council (PDF)

Falmer Parish Council (PDF)

Fletching Parish Council (PDF)

Heathfield Waldron Parish Council (PDF)

Hestmonceux Parish Council (PDF)

Mayfield and Five Ashes Parish Council (PDF)

Mayfield and Five Ashes Parish Council - part 2 (PDF)

Polegate Town Council (PDF)

Rotherfield Parish Council (PDF)

Salehurst and Robertsbridge Parish Council (PDF)

Willingdon and Jevington Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Lambert (PDF)

Cllr Simmons (PDF)

Cllr Whetstone (PDF)

Local authority

East Sussex County Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Willingdon Residents Association (PDF)

Consultation closed on 30 November 2015

On 22 September 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Rother District Council. Between 22 September and 30 November 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the district council should have 38 councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Rother to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 38 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executives of East Sussex county (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note that the information was provided to us by East Sussex County Council.

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

At the same time, the Commission is carrying out an electoral review of East Sussex County Council and the other four district councils across East Sussex. This review will re-draw electoral division boundaries for the county council and ward boundaries for each district. If you wish to have your say on county division boundaries or ward boundaries in any other district, follow the links below:

East Sussex County Council

Eastbourne Borough Council

Hastings Borough Council

Lewes District Council

Wealden District Council

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Rother District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Rother District Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

An electoral review of Rother started on 25 July 2000.

Final report  (PDF) was published 07 August 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Rother; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Rother; (PDF)

Map A1 The proposed ward boundaries within the district; (PDF)

Large map (3.82 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Battle and Bexhill-on-Sea; (PDF)

Draft report  (PDF) was published 20 February 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Rother; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Rother; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Rother: Key Map; (PDF)

Large map (4.4 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Battle and Bexhill-on-Sea. This may take some time to download; (PDF)