Draft and final recommendation reports for Hastings, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Hastings

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Hastings between September 2015 - December 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Hastings councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Hastings (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Hastings, was made on 15 December 2016.

New ward arrangements for Hastings have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2019.

The order for Hastings can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2016/1228

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 27 October 2016 the Hastings (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Hastings and published on 27 September 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Hastings in 2019.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2016/9780111150740

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 27th September 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements for Hastings Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Hastings Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation closed on the 16 June 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we recieved:

Local Residents:

Tyler Murphy S

Tyler Murphy S

Local Authorities:

Hastings Borough Council

On 15 March 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Hastings Borough Council. Between 15 March 2016 and 16 June 2016 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Hastings Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for East Sussex County Council and its districts

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive in East Sussex (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Hastings Borough Council holds elections every two years. The Commission has a responsibility, set out in legislation, to devise a pattern of two-member wards across the whole authority. Such a ward pattern means that every elector would have the same opportunity to vote in local elections each time they are held. The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Hastings to help it to produce a new pattern of two-member wards to accommodate 32 borough councillors.The Commission is able to move away from a uniform pattern of two-member wards – on a ward by ward basis - if it believes an alternative arrangement would better meet its other statutory criteria: to deliver electoral equality for voters, to reflect the interests and identities of local communities and to promote effective and convenient local government.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are the submissions we received during the consultation on warding arrangements for Hastings Borough Council

Local residents

Coote H (PDF)

Cosson J (PDF)

Davis K (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Scott (PDF)

Local Authority

Hastings Borough Council (PDF)

The Commission is also undertaking an electoral review of East Sussex County Council. Below are the submissions we received for East Sussex.

Local residents

All submissions from local residents are combined in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Chalvington with Ripe Parish Council (PDF)

Falmer Parish Council (PDF)

Fletching Parish Council (PDF)

Heathfield Waldron Parish Council (PDF)

Hestmonceux Parish Council (PDF)

Mayfield and Five Ashes Parish Council (PDF)

Mayfield and Five Ashes Parish Council - part 2 (PDF)

Polegate Town Council (PDF)

Rotherfield Parish Council (PDF)

Salehurst and Robertsbridge Parish Council (PDF)

Willingdon and Jevington Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Lambert (PDF)

Cllr Simmons (PDF)

Cllr Whetstone (PDF)

Local authority

East Sussex County Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Willingdon Residents Association (PDF)

Consultation closed on 30 November 2015

On 22 September 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Hastings Borough Council. Between 22 September and 30 November 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the Hastings Borough Council should have 32 councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Hastings to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 32 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executives in East Sussex county (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.Please note these figures were slightly amended on 5 October 2015 and were provided to us by East Sussex County Council.

Hastings Borough Council holds elections in two years out of every four. The Commission has a responsibility, set out in legislation, to devise a pattern of two-member wards across the whole authority. Such a ward pattern means that every elector would have the same opportunity to vote in local elections each time they are held. The Commission is able to move away from a uniform pattern of two-member wards – on a ward by ward basis - if it believes an alternative arrangement would better meet its other statutory criteria: to deliver electoral equality for voters, to reflect the interests and identities of local communities and to promote effective and convenient local government.

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

At the same time, the Commission is carrying out an electoral review of East Sussex County Council and the other four district councils across East Sussex. This review will re-draw electoral division boundaries for the county council and ward boundaries for each district. If you wish to have your say on county division boundaries or ward boundaries in any other district, follow the links below:

East Sussex County Council

Eastbourne Borough Council

Lewes District Council

Rother District Council

Wealden District Council

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Hastings Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Hastings Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

An electoral review of Hastings District Council started 25 July 2000.

Final report (PDF) was published 07 August 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Hastings; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Hastings; (PDF)

Large map (5.48 Mb) proposed ward boundaries for Hastings; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF) was published 20 February2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Hastings; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Hastings; (PDF)

Large map (5.9 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Hastings (This may take some time to download); (PDF)