" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

West Berkshire

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of West Berkshire Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across West Berkshire.

Since the publication of our draft recommendations for West Berkshire an error has been identified: the variances published in our report do not accurately reflect the boundaries shown. Accordingly, the Commission has decided to recommend revised warding patterns in three Newbury wards:

- Greenham
- Newbury Central
- Wash Common

We have published updated draft recommendations to reflect these changes:

·         Draft recommendations for West Berkshire Council

·         Summary of the West Berkshire report 

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of West Berkshire Council

·         An overview map of West Berkshire draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

As a result of these changes the deadline for submissions will be extended to 13 November 2017.

Correspondence relating to the review – and consultation submissions - should be addressed to:

Review Officer (West Berkshire)

Local Government Boundary Commission for England

14th Floor

Millbank Tower

Millbank

London

SW1P 4QP

Email: reviews@lgbce.org.uk

Responses to the consultation can also be made directly through our specialist consultation portal: https://consultation.lgbce.org.uk.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 29 August 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of West Berkshire Council. Between 29 August 2017 and 6 November 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for West Berkshire Council

·         Summary of the West Berkshire report 

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of West Berkshire Council

·         An overview map of West Berkshire draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the West Berkshire electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (West Berkshire)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The further consultation on warding arrangements for West Berkshire closed on 10 July 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

West Berkshire Council 1

West Berkshire Council 2

Political Groups:

Newbury and West Berkshire Liberal Democrats

Councillors:

Cllr Edwards

Cllr Law

Cllr Lock

Cllr Macro

Local Organisations:

UNISON

Volunteer Centre

Parish and Town Councils:

Aldermaston and Beenham Parish Councils

Beech Hill Parish Council

Bucklebury Parish Council

Burghfield Parish Council

Chieveley Parish Council

Cold Ash Parish Council

Compton Parish Council

East Garston Parish Council

Enborne Parish Council

Hampstead Norreys Parish Council

Hungerford Town Council

Inkpen Parish Council

Sulhamstead Parish Council

Thatcham Parish Council

Theale Parish Council

Tilehurst Parish Council

Winterbourne Parish Council

Local Residents:

Anderson L

Boston J

Bridges M

Brookes C

Bunce T

Button A

Chester R

Cole J

Colquhoun I

Digby D

Folly K

Gore J

Hawkesworth M

King A

Kingswood P

Knight M

Mathieson J

Miller C

Morgan G

Morrow A

Norman P

Northey-Stevens A

Northey Stevens A

Page R

Parry J

Parry S

Parsons M

Pike S

Ray P

Roberts J

Samuel J

Spring J

Stiemens A

Thomas R

Titford R

Tong I

Trinder J

Tubb RB

Webb S

Whyatt D


On 13 June 2017, we started the further period of consultation for a pattern of wards for West Berkshire Council. Between 13 June 2017 and 10 July 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

A further period of consultation on warding arrangements for West Berkshire therefore began in light of responses to correspondence received at the previous stage of consultation.

We had decided to re-examine the electorate forecast figures provided by the Council. The Commission relies on 5 year forecasts so that our proposals reflect future development and not just the existing electorate. It was important that we were satisfied with these figures. The Commission worked alongside West Berkshire Council to produce revised forecast figures for 2023. We believed that these updated figures were more likely to reflect the electorate by that time. Because these figures were, in some areas, significantly different to those we originally published in January 2017, we conducted an additional month long consultation on warding patterns.

We wrote to everybody who wrote to us previously, offering the opportunity to submit amended proposals for future ward boundaries based on the new figures. When drawing up our draft recommendations we considered all the submissions we received at the previous stage of consultation and those received in this new consultation. Local residents and organisations were welcome to write to us again.

The Commission was minded to recommend that West Berkshire Council should have 42 councillors in the future.

As before, the Commission needed information from people and groups across West Berkshire to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 42 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of West Berkshire Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by West Berkshire Council and may contain boundary errors.

West Berkshire polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements for West Berkshire closed on 10 April 2017.


On 24 January 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for West Berkshire Council. Between 24 January 2017 and 10 April 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that West Berkshire Council should have 42 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across West Berkshire to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 42 councillors.

For more information, read the news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of West Berkshire Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by West Berkshire Council and may contain boundary errors.

West Berkshire polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

N.B - 7 February 2017: Please note we were aware of errors in the figures in our consultation area. These have now been amended and the consultation deadline has been extended by a week until the 10th April 2017.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with West Berkshire Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on West Berkshire Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

West Berkshire Council Submission

An electoral review of West Berkshire Unitary Authority (UA) was started on 27 March 2001

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report  (PDF) was published 03 April 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in West Berkshire UA; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for West Berkshire UA; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed wards for West Berkshire; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed Denefield parish ward and Westwood ward; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrates the proposed Birch Copse and Calcot wards; (PDF)

Large map (5.07 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Newbury and Thatcham; (PDF)

Draft report  (PDF) was published 09 October 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in West Berkshire UA; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for West Berkshire UA; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2 and A3 and the large map; (PDF) 

Map A2  Illustrates the proposed warding of Tilehurst parish; (PDF) 

Map A3 Illustrates the proposed warding of Tilehurst and Holybrook parishes; (PDF)

Large map (5.07 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Newbury and Thatcham; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date from
Date to
Consultation on warding arrangements 24 January 2017
10 April 2017
Further consultation on warding arrangements
13 June 2017 10 July 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations 29 August 2017
13 November 2017
Final recommendations published
16 January 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more