LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Ribble Valley

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Ribble Valley Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Ribble Valley.

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 25 October 2017, the Ribble Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Ribble Valley and published on 29 August 2017.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Ribble Valley in 2019.

The draft order can be viewed here.

On 29 August 2017 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Ribble Valley Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

·         Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Ribble Valley Borough Council

·         Summary of the Ribble Valley report

·         News release

·         Letter to the Chief Executive of Ribble Valley Borough Council

·         Overview map of the Ribble Valley Borough Council final recommendations

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Ribble Valley. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Ribble Valley Borough Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 19 June 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Ribble Valley Borough Council

Councillors:

Cllr Austin

Parish and Town Councils:

Barrow Parish Council

Bowland Forest Higher Parish Council

Ribchester Parish Council

Local Residents:

Andrew L

Jackson R

Myers JK

Robinson K

Rouncefield-Swales A


On 11 April 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Ribble Valley Borough Council. Between 11 April 2017 and 19 June 2017 we are invited comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for Ribble Valley Borough Council

·         Summary of the Ribble Valley report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Ribble Valley Borough Council

·         An overview map of Ribble Valley Borough Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 30 January 2017.

The submissions we received for this stage of the consultation can be found below:

Local Authority:

Ribble Valley Borough Council

Political Groups:

Ribble Valley Conservative Association

Labour Group

Parish and Town Councils:

Bowland Forest Higher Division Parish Council

Barrow Parish Council


On 22 November 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Ribble Valley Borough Council. Between 22 November 2016 and 30 January 2017, we are invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Ribble Valley Borough Council should have 40 councillors in the future, the same as currently.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Ribble Valley to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 40 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Ribble Valley Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Ribble Valley Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Ribble Valley polling district map (JPEG)

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Ribble Valley Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Ribble Valley Borough Council). We received the following submission on council size:

Ribble Valley Borough Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and started on 7 September 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 5 September 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Ribble Valley; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Ribble Valley; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Ribble Valley: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Billington and Langho Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed re-warding of Longridge Parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.8 Mb) illustrating the proposed warding arrangements for Clitheroe. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 4 April 2000

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements 22 November 2016
30 January 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations 11 April 2017
19 June 2017
Final recommendations published
29 August 2017