Draft and final recommendation reports for Lancashire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Lancashire County Council

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Lancashire between June 2015 - December 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Lancashire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Lancashire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Lancashire, was made on 8 November 2016.

New ward arrangements for Lancashire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2017.

The order for Lancashire can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/1069/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 30 June 2016 the Lancashire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Lancashire, which were published on 5 April 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Lancashire County Council in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111147788

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the county (PDF)

On 5th April 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Lancashire County Council. The report is available in the link below.

* Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Lancashire County Council (PDF)

* Summary of the report (PDF)

* News release

* Letter to the Chief Executive of Lancashire County Council (PDF)

* Overview map of the Lancashire County Council final recommendations (PDF)

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

PDF maps of each individual ward can be found below. Please note each document is very large so may take some time to load.

* Lancashire County Council final recommendations  - wards A-Z (PDF)

To receive the data files for this map in shapefile format please email your request to reviews@lgbce.org.uk.

We have now completed our electoral review of Lancashire County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on the 11th of January 2016.

Below are the submissions that we recieved:

Local Residents:

All of the local resident submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below:

Local Residents surnames A-L (PDF)

Local Residents surnames M-Z (PDF)

Councillors:

All of the Councillor's submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below:

County Councillors (PDF)

Borough Councillors (PDF)

Parish Councillors:

Councillor Gaffney (PDF)

Councillor Lennox (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

All of the Parish and Town Council submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below:

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Local Authorities:

Chorley Borough Council (PDF)

Hyndburn Borough Council (PDF)

Lancashire County Council (PDF)

Ribble Valley Borough Council (PDF)

Rossendale Borough Council (PDF)

South Ribble Borough Council (PDF)

West Lancashire Borough Council (PDF)

Wyre Borough Council (PDF)

Local Organisation: (PDF)

Red Rose Sport Club (PDF)

Thorton Action Group (PDF)

Political Groups:

Chorley Conservatives (PDF)

Conservative Group on Pendle Council (PDF)

Conservative Group on West Lancashire Borough Council (PDF)

Lancashire County Council Conservative Group - Dec (PDF)

Lancashire County Council Conservative Group - Jan (PDF)

Liberal Democrats on Ribble Valley Borough Council (PDF)

Pendle Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Ribble Valley Conservative Association (PDF)

Rossendale and Darwen  Conservative Association (PDF)

MP:

MP A Stephenson (PDF)

Lord:

Lord Robert Greaves (PDF)

Petition:

1- 'Pendle Hill' and 'Brierfield andNelson West' (PDF)

'Propse that polling districts BM, BN, BO (Bradley Ward) are moved from 'Pendle Hill' into 'Brierfield and Nelson West' and that polling districts BS, BT, RC, RA1 & RA2 (Brierfield and Reedley Wards) are moved from Brierfield and Nelson WEst' into Pendle Hill. This petition was broken down into polling districts and we recived the following signatures per polling district: BS=42, BT=37, RA1=38, RA2=126, RC=56.

2- West Craven  (PDF)

Support draft recommendations and oppose any proposal which would see West Craven seperated. We recieved 150 signatures in support of this petition.

3-  Pendle Rural County Council division (PDF)

Supports draft recommendations to create a two member divison. We recieved 203 signatures for this petition.


On 17th November 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Lancashire County Council. Between 17th November 2015 and 11th January 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for  Lancashire County Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for  Lancashire County Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of  Lancashire County Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 31st of August 2015

Below are the Submission we recieved:

Local Residents:

Colling R (PDF)

Hough A (PDF)

Lawson J (PDF)

Pennington L (PDF)

Pratt (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

We received 22 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

We also recieved 2 additional submissions which are listed below

Charnock Richards Parish Council (PDF)

Barrow Parish Council (PDF)

District and Borough Councillors:

Cllr Martin (PDF)

Cllr Mills (PDF)

County Councillors:

Cllr Boardman (PDF)

Cllr Clempson (PDF)

Cllr Dawson (PDF)

Cllr Molineux (PDF)

Cllr Perks (PDF)

Cllr Dad (PDF)

Parish Councillors:

Cllr Young (PDF)

Local Authorities:

Lancashire County Council (PDF)

District and Borough Councils:

Chorley BC (PDF)

Hyndburn BC (1) (PDF)

Hyndburn BC (2) (PDF)

Lancaster City Council (PDF)

Ribble Valley BC (PDF)

Rossendale BC (PDF)

South Ribble BC (PDF)

West Lancashire BC (PDF)

Wyre Council BC (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Lancashire Fire and Rescue Service (PDF)

Newton Residents Association (PDF)

Rishton Prospects Panel (PDF)

Scaitcliffe Spring Hill Neighbourhood Managament (PDF)

St Mathews and St James Church, Preston (PDF)

Thornton Action Group (PDF)

West Lancashire CCG (PDF)

Political Groups:

Lancashire CC Independent Group (PDF)

Lancashire CC Labour Group (PDF)

Lancashire CC Conservative Group (PDF)

Ribble Valley Conservatives Association (PDF)

Rossendale and Darwen Conservative Association (PDF)

South Ribble Borough Council Labour Group (PDF)

South Ribble BC Conservative Group (PDF)

Wyre Labour Group (PDF)

MP:

Graham Jones MP (PDF)

Mark Hendrick MP (PDF)

Nigel Evans MP (PDF)

 

On 23 June 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of divisions for Lancashire County Council. Between 23 June 2015 and 31 August 2015, we invited comments on the division boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 84 county councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Lancashire to help it to produce a new pattern of electoral divisions to accommodate 84 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Lancashire County Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements

The Polling District Maps below may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the Lancashire County Council and may contain boundary errors.

Burnley Polling District Map (PDF)

Chorley Polling District Map (PDF)

Fylde Polling District Map (PDF)

Hyndburn Polling District Map (PDF)

Lancaster City Polling District Map (PDF)

Lancaster District Polling District Map (PDF)

Pendle Polling District Map (PDF)

Preston Polling District Map (PDF)

Ribble Valley Polling District Map (PDF)

Rossendale Polling District Map (PDF)

South Ribble - Entire Polling District Map (PDF)

South Ribble - Leyland Polling District Map (PDF)

South Ribble - Walton le Dale and Bamber Bridge Polling District Map (PDF)

West Lancashire - Entire Polling District Map (PDF)

West Lancashire - Skelmersdale Polling District Map (PDF)

Wyre Polling District Map (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Lancashire County Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Lancashire County Council). We received 1 submissions on council size.

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Lancashire County Council on 9 July 2002. It was due to complete on 28 October 2003, however it was put on hold due to the Local Government Reviews. It has now been completed and the final and reissued draft recommendations are available below.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising Sheet 1, Sheet 2 and Sheet 3.

Final recommendations , published on 12 October 2004.

The Large map sheet 1 inserted at the back of this report illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Lancashire, including constituent district wards and parishes.

Map sheet 2 illustrates the proposed electoral divisions in Hyndburn borough and the proposed boundaries in Burnley borough (maps 1 and 2).

Map sheet 3 illustrates the proposed boundaries in Fylde borough, the proposed boundaries in Wyre borough, the proposed boundaries in the Morecambe area of the City of Lancaster and the proposed boundaries in West Lancashire (maps 3, 4, 5, and 6).

Map sheet 4 illustrates the parishes of Ellel and Scotforth and our proposed Lancaster South East division in City of Lancaster (map 7).

Draft recommendations (reissue) , published on 2 June 2004.

Map 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Lancashire.

Map 2 illustrates the proposed electoral divisions in Burnley and Hyndburn.

Map 3  illustrates the proposed electoral divisions in Fylde, Lancaster, West Lancashire and Wyre.

Draft recommendations , published on 28 May 2003.

Map 1  showing recommendations for Lancashire.

Map 2 showing recommendations for Lancashire.

Map 3 showing recommendations for Lancashire.


A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 20 September 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 26 October 1994

Draft report (PDF) published 14 June 1994