LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Blackburn with Darwen

image map View our draft recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Blackburn with Darwen.

 

On 29 August 2017 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

·         Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council

·         Summary of the Blackburn with Darwen report (will be published as soon as possible)

·         News release

·         Letter to the Chief Executive of Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council

·         Overview map of the Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council final recommendations

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Blackburn with Darwen. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 19 June 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council

Political Groups:

Blackburn Conservative Association

North Turton Conservative Association 

Councillors:

Cllr Ali

Cllr McGurk

Local Organisations:

Ewood Community Association

Parish and Town Councils:

Darwen Town Council

North Turton Parish Council

Local Residents:

Crawford G

Dagger G

Dyer D

Ismail I

Rees S

Rigby J


On 11 April 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council. Between 11 April 2017 and 19 June 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council

·         Summary of the Blackburn with Darwen report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council

·         An overview map of Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 30 January 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council

Parish and Town Councils:

Tockholes Parish Council

Local Residents:

Baghdadi, S


On 22 November 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council. Between 22 November 2016 and 30 January 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council should have 51 councillors in the future, a reduction of 13 from the current amount of 64.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Blackburn with Darwen to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 51 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Blackburn with Darwen polling district map (JPEG)

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council). We received the following submission on council size:

Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 12 June 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 6 June 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing wards in Blackburn Unitary Authority (UA); (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Blackburn UA; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed warding arrangements for Blackburn with Darwen and highlights the area shown in the large map at the back of the report; (PDF)

Large map (8.67 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Blackburn with Darwen; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 15 January 2002 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing wards in Blackburn UA; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Blackburn UA; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the borough and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large map; (PDF)

Large map (8.67 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Blackburn with Darwen; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements 22 November 2016
30 January 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations 11 April 2017
19 June 2017
Final recommendations published

29 August 2017


Useful Documents