LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Manchester

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Manchester City Council. 

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

 

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across Manchester. 

On 11 April 2017 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Manchester City Council. The report is available in the link below.

 

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. The mapping files of our final recommendations can be downloaded here.

We have now completed our electoral review of Manchester City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Manchester City Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on our draft recommendations closed on 23 January 2017.

Below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

Manchester City Council

Local Residents:

Barnes M

Barram K

Britten C

Commons J

DeRoo M

Hardy P

Harrison A

Hirst S

Hunter S

McCall K

Murphy P

Whirton D

Zulfiqar U


On 29 November we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Manchester City Council. Between 29 November 2016 and 23 January 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below:

·         Draft recommendations for Manchester City Council

·         Summary of the Manchester report 

·         News release on draft recommendations for Manchester City Council

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Manchester City Council

·         An overview map of Manchester City Council draft recommendations 
Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on 26th September 2016.

Below are the submissions that we received:

Local Authorities:

Manchester City Council

Councillors:

Cllr Leech

Political Groups:

Manchester Green Party

Local Organisations:

Community on Solid Ground

Manley Park Methodist Church

Northenden Neighbourhood Forum

Range Road Residents Group

Whalley Range Forum

Whalley Range Youth Opportunities Association

Local Residents:

Coates M

Danczak A

James M

Lewychyj S

Taylor D

Taylor P

Walker R

 


 

On 26th July 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Manchester City Council. Between 26th July and 26th September 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Manchester City Council should have 96 councillors in the future, which is same as present.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Manchester to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 96 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Manchester City Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

The polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Manchester City Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF) 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area, post code or have your say.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Manchester City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Manchester City Council).

We recieved one submission on council size:

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements on 14 May 2002.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final recommendations, published on 30 September 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Manchester

Map 2 The Committe's draft recommendations for Manchester

Map A1 Illustrates the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps.

Large map1, Large map 2, Large map 3 illustrate the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Manchester.

Draft recommendations, published on 25 February 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Manchester;

Map 2 Our draft recommendations for Manchester

Map 3 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps.

Large map 1, Large map 2 and Large map 3 illustrate the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Manchester.

Review Dates


Date From:
Date To:
Consultation on warding arrangements
26 July 2016
26 September 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
29 November 2016
23 January 2017
Final recommendations
11 April 2017