LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Lakeland

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of South Lakeland District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend new ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across South Lakeland District Council.

Draft order relaid in Parliament

On 13 September 2017, the South Lakeland (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was relaid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in South Lakeland and published on 18 October 2016.

The draft order will be relaid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for South Lakeland in 2018. 

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2017/9780111160145

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 10 July 2017, the South Lakeland (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in South Lakeland and published on 18 October 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for South Lakeland in 2018.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2017/9780111158623

On 18 October 2016 we published our final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in South Lakeland District Council. The report is available in the link below:

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of South Lakeland. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for South Lakeland District Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation closed on the 18 July 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received:  

Local Residents:

All of the submissions that we received from the local residents are contained in the document below

Local Residents (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr Berry (PDF)

Cllr Gray (PDF)

Cllr Harvey (PDF)

Cllr Holmes (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

All of the submissions that we recieved from the Parish and Town Councils are contained in the document below

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Natland Parish Council

Local Authorities:

South Lakeland District Council (PDF)

Political Groups:

South Lakeland Conservative Group (PDF)

Kendal Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Hallgarth Community Centre (PDF)

Westmoreland and Lonsdale CLP (PDF)

Windermere & Bowness Civic Society (PDF)

 


 

On 10 May 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of South Lakeland District Council. Between 10 May 2016 and 18 July 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for South Lakeland District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for South Lakeland District Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of South Lakeland District Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on the 11th of January 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Local Residents:

Fleetwood (PDF)

Bedford (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

All of the submissions that we received from the Parish and Town Councils are contained in the document below:

Parish and Town Council (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr Jenkinsin (PDF)

Cllr Gray (PDF)

Cllr Holmes (PDF)

Cllr Hall (PDF)

Cllr Jupe (PDF)

Cllr Mackie (PDF)

Cllr Berry (PDF)

Political Groups:

South Lakeland Conservative Group (PDF)

Local Authorities:

South Lakeland District Council (PDF)

 



On the 27th of October 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for the South Lakeland District Council. Between 27th of October 2015 and the 11th of January 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the South Lakeland District Council should have 51 councillors in the future, which is the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across South Lakeland to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 51 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of the South Lakeland District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

The Polling District Map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the South Lakeland District Council and may contain boundary errors.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with South Lakeland District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors in South Lakeland District Council). We received 2 submission on district size.

We began a further electoral review (FER) of South Lakeland on 6 September 2005. We completed this review on 17 August 2007.

On 12 December 2007, the Electoral Commissioners have decided to accept our final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for South Lakeland, with the following two modifications:

  • the boundary between Grange South and Cartmel & Grange West district ward shall be modified to include No.40 Kentsford Road in Cartmel & Grange West district ward
  • the boundary between Kendal Fell and Kendal Strickland district ward shall be modified to include two properties on Burneside Road in Kendal Strickland district ward

On 25 February 2008, the electoral change Order to implement the Electoral Commission's decision was made to establish the new district and parish wards, by reference to the Order map. Web and print (PDF) versions of the Order are published by the Office of Public Sector Information. The map referred to in the Order comprises Sheet 1 (PDF), Sheet 2 (PDF), Sheet 3 (PDF), Sheet 4 (PDF), Sheet 5 (PDF), Sheet 6 (PDF), Sheet 7 (PDF), Sheet 8 (PDF), Sheet 9 (PDF) and Sheet 10 (PDF).

Final report (PDF) and summary (PDF) published 17 August 2007.

Sheet 1, Map 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for South Lakeland District, including constituent parishes.

Sheet 2, Map 2 illustrates the proposed district ward within Lakes parish.

Sheet 3, Map 3 illustrates the proposed parish wards within Lakes parish.

Sheet 4, Map 4 illustrates the proposed parish wards within Lakes and Windermere parishes.

Sheet 5, Map 5 illustrates the proposed parish wards within Lakes and Windermere parish.

Sheet 6, Map 6 illustrates the proposed district wards and parish wards in the parishes of Windermere, Cartmel Fell, Staveley-in-Cartmel and Lyth Valley.

Sheet 7, Map 7 illustrates the proposed district wards in the parish of Ulverston and parish wards in the parishes of Ulverston, Lower Allithwaite, Pennington    and Urswick.

Sheet 8, Map 8 illustrates the proposed district wards and parish wards in the parishes of Urswick and Lower Allithwaite.

Sheet 9, Map 9 illustrates the proposed district wards and parish wards in the parishes of Lower Allithwaite and Grange-over-Sands.

Sheet 10, Map 10 illustrates the proposed district wards and parish wards in the parish of Kendal.

Draft report (PDF) and executive summary (PDF), published on 21 November 2006.

The following maps illustrate our proposed ward boundaries for South Lakeland district.

Sheet 1, Map 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for South Lakeland District, including constituent parishes.

Sheet 2, Map 2 illustrates the proposed district ward within Lakes parish.

Sheet 3, Map 3 illustrates the proposed parish wards within Lakes parish.

Sheet 4, Map 4 illustrates the proposed parish wards within Lakes and Windermere parishes.

Sheet 5, Map 5 illustrates the proposed parish wards within Lakes and Windermere parish.

Sheet 6, Map 6 illustrates the proposed district wards and parish wards in the parishes of Windermere, Cartmel Fell, Staveley-in-Cartmel and Lyth Valley.

Sheet 7, Map 7 illustrates the proposed district wards in the parish of Ulverston and parish wards in the parishes of Ulverston, Lower Allithwaite, Pennington and Urswick.

Sheet 8, Map 8 illustrates the proposed district wards and parish wards in the parishes of Urswick and Lower Allithwaite.

Sheet 9, Map 9 illustrates the proposed district wards and parish wards in the parishes of Lower Allithwaite and Grange-over-Sands.

Sheet 10, Map 10 illustrates the proposed district wards and parish wards in the parish of Kendal.


The last review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 25 May 1997.

Final report (PDF), published on 4 November 1997

Draft report (PDF) published on 10 June 1997.

Review Dates


Date From
Date to
Consultation on warding arrangements
27th October 2015
11th January 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
10th May 2016
18th July 2016
Final recommendations
18th October 2016