LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Copeland

image map View current ward boundaries

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Copeland Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. To achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Copeland.

 

 

 

 

The consultation on warding arrangements for Copeland Borough Council has now closed.


On 28 November 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Copeland Borough Council. Between 28 November 2017 and 12 February 2018, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Copeland Borough Council should have 33 councillors in the future.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Copeland Borough Council.

You may have found the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Copeland Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Copeland polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Copeland Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Copeland Borough Council). We received two submissions on council size:

Mayor Starkie

The Copeland Labour Group

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 25 May 1997.

Final report (PDF), published on 4 November 1997

Draft report (PDF) published on 10 June 1997.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
28 November 2017
12 February 2018
Consultation on draft recommendations
3 April 2018
11 June 2018
Final recommendations published
7 August 2018

Useful Documents