LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Newcastle upon Tyne

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Newcastle City Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Newcastle upon Tyne.

Recommendations become law

The Newcastle upon Tyne (Electoral Changes) Order 2017, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Newcastle upon Tyne, was made on 8 November 2017.

New warding arrangements for Newcastle City Council have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2018.

The Order for Newcastle City Council can be viewed through the following link.

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 10 July 2017, the Newcastle upon Tyne (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament. Now that that draft Order has successfully passed through Parliament, it will give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Newcastle upon Tyne, and published on 8 November 2016.

The draft Order can be viewed here.

The draft Order refers to a map which can be viewed here.

On 8 November 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Newcastle City Council. The report is available in the link below:

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Newcastle upon Tyne. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Newcastle City Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation closed on 22 August 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Local Residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined in the document below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission:

Local Residents

Councillors:

Cllr Allibhai

Cllr Huddart

Cllr Kane 1

Cllr Kane 2

Cllr Lower

Cllr Pattison

Cllr Stone

Cllr Taylor 1

Cllr Taylor 2

Cllr Wood

Parish and Town Councils:

Woolsington Parish Council

Local Authority:

Newcastle City Council

Political Groups:

Newcastle East Labour Party

Newcastle Conservative Federation

Local Organisations:

Elswick Parish Church

Kingston Park Neighbourhood Forum

Throckley Leazes Tenants and Residents Group

West End Housing Cooperative

Petitions:

Kingston Park Neighbourhood Forum 1

Kingston Park Neighbourhood Forum 2

North Heaton Focus

 


 

On 28 June 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Newcastle City Council. Between 28 June and 22 August 2016 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found at the links below.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Newcastle electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Newcastle)
   Local Government Boundary Commission for England
   14th Floor Millbank Tower
   Millbank
   London
   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.


Below are the submissions we recieved during the consultation on warding arrangements. 

Local Residents

Combined submissions A-Z (PDF)

Horsman K (PDF)

Local Organisations

Combined Submissions A-Z (PDF)

Parish Councils

Brunswick Parish Council Part One (PDF)

Brunswick Parish Council Part Two (PDF)

Woolsington Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Combined Submissions A-Z (PDF)

Local Authourities

Newcastle City Council (PDF)

 



On 26 January 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Newcastle City Council. Between 26 January and 4 April 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Newcastle City Council should have 78 councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

Newcastle City Council holds elections in three years out of every four. The Commission has a responsibility, set out in legislation, to devise a pattern of three-member wards across the whole authority. Such a ward pattern means that every elector would have the same opportunity to vote in local elections each time they are held. The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Newcastle to help it to produce a new pattern of three-member wards to accommodate 78 councillors.The Commission is able to move away from a uniform pattern of three-member wards – on a ward by ward basis - if it believes an alternative arrangement would better meet its other statutory criteria: to deliver electoral equality for voters, to reflect the interests and identities of local communities and to promote effective and convenient local government.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Newcastle City Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the Newcastle City Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.


The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Newcastle-upon-Tyne on 14 May 2002.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final recommendations, published on 21 October 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Newcastle-upon-Tyne;

Map 2 Our final recommendations for Newcastle-upon-Tyne;

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps;

Large map 1,large map 2 and large map 3 illustrating the proposed warding arrangements for Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Draft recommendations, published on 25 February 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Newcastle-upon-Tyne;

Map 2 Our draft recommendations for Newcastle-upon-Tyne;

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps;

Large map 1,large map 2 and large map 3 illustrate the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
26 January 2016
4 April 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
28 June 2016
22 August 2016
Final recommendations
8 November 2016